• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Help! Timeout First Hop Every Trace Route.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

KfistoRok

Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2002
Location
Northern KY
I dunno what is causing this. A friend said maybe a routing loop? I have a small router. It's a Linksys nr041-wm. Here's what I get for example.

C:\>tracert 140.99.31.180

Tracing route to 180.netboundaries.com [140.99.31.180]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 * * * Request timed out.
2 47 ms 46 ms 46 ms h43.32.213.151.ip.alltel.net [151.213.32.43]
3 44 ms 46 ms 46 ms h225.122.55.139.ip.alltel.net [139.55.122.225]
4 47 ms 45 ms 46 ms h232.30.213.151.ip.alltel.net [151.213.30.232]
5 46 ms 50 ms 46 ms h214.33.213.151.ip.alltel.net [151.213.33.214]
6 68 ms 62 ms 64 ms 12.118.224.21
7 72 ms 73 ms 72 ms tbr2-p013901.cgcil.ip.att.net [12.123.210.17]
8 81 ms 81 ms 83 ms tbr2-cl7.sl9mo.ip.att.net [12.122.10.46]
9 94 ms 93 ms 104 ms tbr2-cl6.dlstx.ip.att.net [12.122.10.90]
10 112 ms 111 ms 112 ms gbr2-p20.phmaz.ip.att.net [12.122.10.82]
11 110 ms 109 ms 109 ms gar1-p370.phmaz.ip.att.net [12.123.142.25]
12 112 ms 112 ms 112 ms ge1-3-1000m.cr2.brdr.phx.puregig.net [12.127.141
.38]
13 113 ms 111 ms 112 ms gigabit-core-1.deru.net [140.99.96.114]
14 110 ms 112 ms 112 ms 180.netboundaries.com [140.99.31.180]

Trace complete.


My machine address is 192.168.1.2
Subnet 255.255.255.0
Gateway 192.168.1.1

Router Lan address 192.168.1.1
Sub 255.255.255.0

Wan address... prolly don't need to state,
but subnet is 255.0.0.0

My service provider is Alltell and my connection is DSL. A friend noted it takes many hops to get out of the Alltell network, but anyways before that I'm at 47ms anyways.

Does anyone know what is going on here? :bang head

This is really hurting my ping to my Halo server in AZ. :(
 

Kaso

Member
Joined
May 5, 2004
Location
England, Yorkshire
Hmm well not sure here, but thats kinda like me, but i have a modem.

The way i figure it is that the server i connect to is set not to reply to pings

its just a guess, i'm no expert
 

JigPu

Inactive Pokémon Moderator
Joined
Jun 20, 2001
Location
Vancouver, WA
I've noticed similar behavior when doing traces myself. I believe that the missing hop is your cable modem, since it is the only missing address on the list of places along the route (at least in my case).

I'd look to the modem for possible causes of bad pings, like poor signal strength, etc.
JigPu
 

Smokeys

Member
Joined
May 24, 2003
Location
Toronto, Ontario
This isn't abnormal. Some isps do not allow some of their devices to answer ICMP, this causes timeoutes on some hops like the above, for a while the 3rd hop in my traceroutes would always timeout.
 

Bald Shadow

Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2002
Location
New York
This is what I got when I ran tracert to 180.netboundaries.com [140.99.31.180] I don’t know if this information is helpful but my service provider is Verizon and my connection is DSL.

C:\>tracert 140.99.31.180

Tracing route to 180.netboundaries.com [140.99.31.180]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 16 ms 15 ms 15 ms 10.32.107.1

2 14 ms 15 ms 16 ms at-3-0-0-1726.CORE-RTR1.NY325.verizon-gni.net [130.81.11.49]

3 17 ms 18 ms 18 ms so-4-0-0-0.BB-RTR1.NY325.verizon-gni.net [130.81.8.25]

4 15 ms 15 ms 15 ms so-0-0-0-0.PEER-RTR1.NY111.verizon-gni.net [130.81.4.10]

5 17 ms 18 ms 18 ms so-6-2-0-0.gar2.NewYork1.Level3.net [65.59.196.17]

6 16 ms 16 ms 18 ms ge-1-3-0.bbr1.NewYork1.Level3.net [209.247.9.205]

7 81 ms 79 ms 81 ms so-0-1-0.mp2.Phoenix1.Level3.net [64.159.1.122]

8 80 ms 79 ms 78 ms so-9-0.hsa1.Phoenix1.Level3.net [4.68.113.254]

9 87 ms 87 ms 86 ms 67.72.71.38

10 88 ms 90 ms 89 ms gigabit-core-1.deru.net [140.99.96.114]

11 87 ms 89 ms 87 ms 180.netboundaries.com [140.99.31.180]

Trace complete.
 
OP
KfistoRok

KfistoRok

Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2002
Location
Northern KY
Kaso said:
Hmm well not sure here, but thats kinda like me, but i have a modem.

The way i figure it is that the server i connect to is set not to reply to pings

its just a guess, i'm no expert

I have no idea what would be wrong with my router.

Any ideas what to check?

I don't think this is a simple ISP is blocking pings. I lag on a lot of Halo servers and I can only find about 5 under 100 ping. I think my connection is screwy some how.
 
Last edited:

Smokeys

Member
Joined
May 24, 2003
Location
Toronto, Ontario
Your 'router' isn't the first hop on the traceroute path, its your ISP's, you can't do anything to change this. Also, they aren't blocking pings, they are blocking a specific type of ICMP packet to one specific device.
 

Ddruid_SMP

Member
Joined
May 18, 2003
Location
Missouri
The first hop is your router. The time-outs are due to the device not responding to icmp and nothing to be worried about.
 

jajmon

Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2002
Location
Burnsville, Minnesota
this is my trace

Tracing route to 180.netboundaries.com [140.99.31.180]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms 192.168.0.1 (this is my router)
2 12 ms 9 ms 10 ms 10.21.24.1 (this is my cable modem)
3 15 ms 15 ms 19 ms 'my isp info here'
4 25 ms 22 ms 26 ms 'my isp info here'
5 24 ms 24 ms 25 ms gbr6-p80.cgcil.ip.att.net [12.123.5.222]
6 32 ms 31 ms 32 ms tbr2-cl7.sl9mo.ip.att.net [12.122.10.46]
7 45 ms 45 ms 46 ms tbr2-cl6.dlstx.ip.att.net [12.122.10.90]
8 62 ms 62 ms 61 ms gbr2-p40.phmaz.ip.att.net [12.122.10.86]
9 62 ms 70 ms 62 ms gar1-p370.phmaz.ip.att.net [12.123.142.25]
10 63 ms 69 ms 64 ms ge1-3-1000m.cr2.brdr.phx.puregig.net [12.127.141
.38]
11 64 ms 64 ms 62 ms gigabit-core-1.deru.net [140.99.96.114]
12 66 ms 62 ms 64 ms 180.netboundaries.com [140.99.31.180]

Trace complete.

I would try a different port on your router to see if that helps.
 

Andy82

Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2004
Location
Wisconsin
i am having the same problem when ever i try to play bf1942 online when i am connected to my router i get horrible pings for some reason i dont know why. then when i plug directly into my cable modem i get fine speeds. I have Road Runner as my ISP. Why am i getting bad lag when i am connected to my router.
 
OP
KfistoRok

KfistoRok

Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2002
Location
Northern KY
jajmon pretty much just confirmed the first hop is a personal router.

Andy82 I could unhook my router and find out if anything changes, but right now I just don't feel like it. :)
 
OP
KfistoRok

KfistoRok

Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2002
Location
Northern KY
Hooked straight to my modem and lost the timeout.

C:\>tracert 140.99.31.180 -d

Tracing route to 180.netboundaries.com [140.99.31.180]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

C:\>tracert 140.99.31.180

Tracing route to 180.netboundaries.com [140.99.31.180]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 45 ms 46 ms 46 ms h43.32.213.151.ip.alltel.net [151.213.32.43]
2 46 ms 46 ms 46 ms h225.122.55.139.ip.alltel.net [139.55.122.225]
3 46 ms 46 ms 46 ms h232.30.213.151.ip.alltel.net [151.213.30.232]
4 46 ms 46 ms 62 ms h214.33.213.151.ip.alltel.net [151.213.33.214]
5 62 ms 62 ms 62 ms 12.118.224.21
6 77 ms 78 ms 78 ms tbr2-p013901.cgcil.ip.att.net [12.123.210.17]
7 77 ms 77 ms 77 ms tbr2-cl7.sl9mo.ip.att.net [12.122.10.46]
8 93 ms 93 ms 93 ms tbr2-cl6.dlstx.ip.att.net [12.122.10.90]
9 109 ms 109 ms 109 ms gbr2-p30.phmaz.ip.att.net [12.122.2.106]
10 109 ms 121 ms 111 ms gar1-p370.phmaz.ip.att.net [12.123.142.25]
11 109 ms 109 ms 124 ms ge1-3-1000m.cr2.brdr.phx.puregig.net [12.127.141
.38]
12 124 ms 124 ms 119 ms gigabit-core-1.deru.net [140.99.96.114]
13 124 ms 124 ms 109 ms 180.netboundaries.com [140.99.31.180]

Trace complete.

Not doing any better speedwise on our server. Still 133, although I get about 25 Halo servers under 100 ping. Before it was barely 5.

Takes me quite a bit of time to get out of my service provider's network.

Have no idea what is going on with that router...
 
Last edited:

xtrmeocr

Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2002
jajmon said:
this is my trace

Tracing route to 180.netboundaries.com [140.99.31.180]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms 192.168.0.1 (this is my router)
2 12 ms 9 ms 10 ms 10.21.24.1 (this is my cable modem)
3 15 ms 15 ms 19 ms 'my isp info here'
4 25 ms 22 ms 26 ms 'my isp info here'
5 24 ms 24 ms 25 ms gbr6-p80.cgcil.ip.att.net [12.123.5.222]
6 32 ms 31 ms 32 ms tbr2-cl7.sl9mo.ip.att.net [12.122.10.46]
7 45 ms 45 ms 46 ms tbr2-cl6.dlstx.ip.att.net [12.122.10.90]
8 62 ms 62 ms 61 ms gbr2-p40.phmaz.ip.att.net [12.122.10.86]
9 62 ms 70 ms 62 ms gar1-p370.phmaz.ip.att.net [12.123.142.25]
10 63 ms 69 ms 64 ms ge1-3-1000m.cr2.brdr.phx.puregig.net [12.127.141
.38]
11 64 ms 64 ms 62 ms gigabit-core-1.deru.net [140.99.96.114]
12 66 ms 62 ms 64 ms 180.netboundaries.com [140.99.31.180]

Trace complete.

I would try a different port on your router to see if that helps.

small correction here, the second hop is not your cable modem. its the CMTS at the headend of your cable system.
 

xtrmeocr

Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2002
the nr041 is simply not responding to pings, nothing to worry about, thats how they all are.
 

Bald Shadow

Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2002
Location
New York
My modem is connected to my Linksys router BEFSX41 and my router to my computer. No problems here. I’ve also set my router to Block WAN Request (ICMP) pings. I’m also behind a firewall. It maybe the configuration of your router.