• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Help with adding 2nd GPU (2 EVGA RTX' 2060's)

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

dfonda

Senior Golfer
Joined
Feb 25, 2004
Need some help adding a 2nd RTX 2060 to the Windows 7 rig in my sig...

First: the MSI Mobo is older, it needed an update to the BIOS to run the RTX 2060 in the 0 slot (Top) It worked fine after that.

Second I have had 2 GPU's folding recently, an GTX 970 in the 0 (Top slot) amd the RTX 2060 in the 2nd slot (1) (No BIOS update was needed at that time)

Third: The GPU's 2 EVGA RTX's Show up in windows and are using a recent driver 442's or there abouts.

Fourth: I finished the work I was doing, uninstalled the V7 client added the 2nd GPU and tho its seen in windows, the client doesn't see it.

Fifth : I reinstalled (The V7 client)and restarted Windows 3 times, trying to get it to recognize the 2nd GPU (No luck)

So I have found it impossible to manually install a 2nd slot for a GPU it only add's a CPU slot (A real PITA), so I always uninstall reinstall the client...The problem with this is you can not keep it from instantly running. So rather than lose any more WU's ....Hoping someone could help with this. I have done this a few times before and its been successful...at a loss now.

I am hoping the issue is not with the MOBO.

Has anyone ever had success adding a GPU client manually? Maybe I am doing it wrong.:confused:

EDIT: I switched to the 2nd GPU for the HDMI out..didn't help. Also MSI Afterburner see's the GPU, which makes me think its the V7 Client.

EDIT: Today(01-18-20 I'll try...

Switching the new EVGA RTX KO Ultra 2060 with another RTX 2060 from my main PC...Maybe the new KO is the issue...The 2 GPU's will be exactly the same.

Install Windows 10, see if it makes any difference. I'll report back...Not sure if I am up to installing Ubuntu and spending the time getting 2 GPU's to fold.

Also the 2 GPU's both show up in the V7 system log.
 
Last edited:
OP
dfonda

dfonda

Senior Golfer
Joined
Feb 25, 2004
The Windows 7 PC is now folding 2 standard EVGA RTX 2060's. So it wasn't anything to do with Windows 7 or an old MOBO.
The client isn't seeing the KO version of the 2060.

My main PC runs the 1080 TI but the new KO is not recognized as a usable GPU...Tho its seen in windows and Afterburner (As in the other PC)

Question is this an Nvidia driver...as in a new driver will fix it for the client?...Or a V7 client issue.?.. Its this GPU... https://www.newegg.com/evga-geforce-rtx-2060-06g-p4-2068-kr/p/N82E16814487486
 
Last edited:
OP
dfonda

dfonda

Senior Golfer
Joined
Feb 25, 2004
OK so I followed this advice to get the KO added https://foldingforum.org/viewtopic.php?f=83&t=26208 ...Hopefully I gave the right info...Thought I was being smart by saving $30 or $40, would have been easier to get the standard RTX 2060:rain: Hope that solves the issue.

Code:
name NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2060


Device ID  10DE 1E89-3842 2068


Code:
VendorID:DeviceID:PCI Bus:PCI Slot:PCI function:Vendor Name:Description
0x8086:0xa36d:0:20:0:Intel Corporation:USB xHCI Compliant Host Controller
0x10de:0x10f8:2:0:1:NVIDIA Corporation:High Definition Audio Controller
0x8086:0x3ec2:0:0:0:Intel Corporation:Intel(R) Host Bridge/DRAM Registers - 3EC2
0x10de:0x1ad9:2:0:3:NVIDIA Corporation:NVIDIA USB Type-C Port Policy Controller
0x8086:0xa348:0:31:3:Intel Corporation:High Definition Audio Controller
0x10de:0x1b06:1:0:0:NVIDIA Corporation:NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti
0x8086:0x1905:0:1:1:Intel Corporation:PCI-to-PCI Bridge
0x8086:0xa370:0:20:3:Intel Corporation:Intel(R) Wireless-AC 9560 160MHz
0x8086:0xa352:0:23:0:Intel Corporation:Intel(R) 300 Series Chipset Family SATA AHCI Controller
[COLOR=#ff0000]0x10de:0x1e89:2:0:0:NVIDIA Corporation:NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2060
0x8086:0xa360:0:22:0:Intel Corporation:Intel(R) Management Engine Interface
0x8086:0xa323:0:31:4:Intel Corporation:Intel(R) SMBus - A323
0x8086:0xa379:0:18:0:Intel Corporation:Intel(R) Thermal Subsystem - A379
0x8086:0xa330:0:29:0:Intel Corporation:Intel(R) PCI Express Root Port #9 - A330
0x8086:0xa338:0:28:0:Intel Corporation:Intel(R) PCI Express Root Port #1 - A338
0x8086:0xa36f:0:20:2:Intel Corporation:PCI standard RAM Controller
0x8086:0xa324:0:31:5:Intel Corporation:Intel(R) SPI (flash) Controller - A324
0x8086:0x1901:0:1:0:Intel Corporation:PCI-to-PCI Bridge
0x10de:0x1ad8:2:0:2:NVIDIA Corporation:USB xHCI Compliant Host Controller
0x8086:0xf1a8:5:0:0:Intel Corporation:Standard NVM Express Controller
0x8086:0x15bc:0:31:6:Intel Corporation:Intel(R) Ethernet Connection (7) I219-V
0x8086:0xa305:0:31:0:Intel Corporation:Intel(R) 300 Series Chipset Family LPC Controller (Z390) - A305
0x8086:0xa340:0:27:0:Intel Corporation:Intel(R) PCI Express Root Port #17 - A340
0x10de:0x10ef:1:0:1:NVIDIA Corporation:High Definition Audio Controller
PS C:\Program Files (x86)\FAHClient> C:\Program Files (x86)\FAHClient> fahclient --lspci[/COLOR]
 
Last edited:

HayesK

Member
Joined
Oct 11, 2008
Dave,

You will need to get the updated gpus.txt file on your computer. Just need to delete the old file and wait a few minutes for the FAHClient to download the newest version.

Your 2060 gpu with ID 1e89 was not in the gpus.txt file dated 01-10-2020 on my windows notebook. A few minutes ago, I deleted the old gpus.txt file and FAHClient downloaded a new copy which does contain that gpu, which is shown in the gpus.txt file as:

0x10de:0x1e89:2:7:TU106-200A [GeForce RTX 2060]

Found a recent post at the folding forum requesting the gpu ID be added and response that it has been done. Not sure if that was you, but the update is done.

Please add EVGA GeForce RTX 2060 KO Ultra
Postby chex313 » Sat Jan 18, 2020 10:41 am
Name NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2060
Device ID: 10DE 1E89-3842 2068

https://foldingforum.org/viewtopic.php?f=83&t=32112
 
OP
dfonda

dfonda

Senior Golfer
Joined
Feb 25, 2004
That was me Hayes:thup: I am Aka Chex at every other forum...Its up and running...:comp:

Bruce got to it fast.

This GPU is thinner than the other 2060's its running cooler...Its thin enough that I think a 3rd GPU of this thickness would fit in my Mobo...albeit at 4x pcie speed.

IMG_20200117_160328.jpg IMG_20200117_160338.jpg
 
Last edited:

HayesK

Member
Joined
Oct 11, 2008
My practice has been to not put 400K ppd or higher GPU on linux x4Gen2 slots. Currently using x8Gen3 slots for my faster cards and the 970s are in x8Gen2, all linux hosts. Windows is less efficient, but x4Gen3 or x8Gen2 would likely be fast enough for the 2060. Core_22 appears to be using a lot of pcie bandwidth, causing issues for the folks using 1x risers, even on linux hosts.
 

squads

Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2003
Location
Nor'east
yeah I think I'll upgrade to an X570 board on my main folding rig later this year so I can run Gen4 slots at x8/x8/x4. That should work well to run three fast GPUs on one board without having to go to HEDT. The x4Gen2 slot is definitely not very useful with Core22