• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Help with Radeon VE please!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Dougan

Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2002
Hello,
Recently I had to reformat my computer, and when i installed the 9021? drivers for the radeon VE my computer seems like it is running slow. Not like the HD is crunching but more video stuff like when i open programs or close them instead of closing right now they kind of close slow. Also when i play games when im moving it seems the screen is jerky movement. Could this be the radeon? The reason i ask is before i reformatted i had the old 9017 i think and never had a problem. Any advice would be greatly appreciated! Thank you!
 
OP
Dougan

Dougan

Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2002
Thank you very much!

I am using Win ME, i have a cdrom, cdrw, zip, audigy gamer, lynksys network card, amd 1.4 on a asus a7a266. I think that is about it.
 

Tracert

Member
Joined
Jan 30, 2002
Location
Southbridge, MA.
I would go through Add Remove Software and take out the newer driver and then install the older set you had. That is a quick and easy way to see if it is a video card driver issue.

What version of the 4in1's you using?
 

Tracert

Member
Joined
Jan 30, 2002
Location
Southbridge, MA.
Check out this web site

http://download.asus.com.tw/mb_dl_menu.asp

You will need to download and install the ALi Integrated Driver v1.04 of AGP, IDE Cache, and FIR.

Here is the quick and dirty on this driver

"This driver integrates AGP driver 1.74 for Win95 OSR2.1/Win98/Win98SE/WinME/Win2K, IDE Cache Utility 1.05 for Win95 OSR2.1/Win98/Win98SE/WinME, FIR driver 1.141 for Win98/Win98SE/WinME/Win2K. and Audio WDM driver 5.12.01.5129 for Win98/Win98SE/WinME/Win2K. This driver will detect the OS version and show the items of drivers you need to install. "

That may help you with your issues your having, also there is a known problem with the ATI Rage 128 Pro and your Mother Board's chipset. I don't know if this bleeds over into your VE problem (very similar cards) but it easily could.

"Question :

Why A7A266 cannot work with ATi All in Wonder Rage128?

Answer :

ALi has already released a patch for ATI Rage 128/Rage 128 Pro VGA card
http://www.acerlabs.com/eng/support/drivers/north_agp_driver.htm

ATi RAGE 128/RAGE 128 Pro Driver patch for ALiMAGiK 1 (M1647) Chipset:

For Win 98/ME: http://support.ati.com/drivers/winme/winme_r128_4137110_sp.html

For Windows NT4: http://support.ati.com/drivers/nt/nt4_r128_433209_sp.html

For Windows 2000: http://support.ati.com/drivers/win2k/win2k_r128_513013209_sp.html"

You can find this information here http://usa.asus.com/mb/socketa/a7a266/faq.htm

I hope this helps you on your road to recovery.

The 4in1 drivers are drivers for the VIA chipsets which I thought your Motherboard had but it doesent. The Driver I linked to above is pretty much ALi's version of this type of driver.
 

JzAr

Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2001
Location
San Jose, CA
Im using winme as well. I would recommend the 9009 drivers. Thats what Im using. Never had any probs with it. By the way I what do you get on 3DMark2k1? Very soon I will break 26:eek::eek: at default 3DMark2k1 settings!!!
 

Tracert

Member
Joined
Jan 30, 2002
Location
Southbridge, MA.
JzAr said:
Im using winme as well. I would recommend the 9009 drivers. Thats what Im using. Never had any probs with it. By the way I what do you get on 3DMark2k1? Very soon I will break 26:eek::eek: at default 3DMark2k1 settings!!!

You got to rub it in, don't you. I cant even break 2000 and your gonna hit 2600. Sonner or later I will try this card with WinME or 98 and see what it really can do, but for some reason it just dosen't like the 2000/XP platform.

Do me a favor and let me know how your pulling that off? I would be interested in hearing it. Also where did you get the 9009 drivers and can I use them with my OEM card?
 

JzAr

Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2001
Location
San Jose, CA
LOL:D yea I do. Why dont you dual boot if you dont want to completely switch over to Win9x? I got em from the ATi site but I guess they dont have em anymore. I doubt you can use em for 2K or XP I tried it already. Try using the 3276 for your card and raising your FSB. Thats the driver that let me overclock the most when I had XP. 216/414 is what its clocked at and the rest is in my sig. Im thinking of actually putting a fan on the GPU and some ramsinks. I could probably hit 2800:D
 
OP
Dougan

Dougan

Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2002
Im sorry again, but....

The page you would have me goto does not seem to work for me so is it a bios update im downloading or something called C-Media? Thank you much!
 

Tracert

Member
Joined
Jan 30, 2002
Location
Southbridge, MA.
Re: Im sorry again, but....

Dougan said:
The page you would have me goto does not seem to work for me so is it a bios update im downloading or something called C-Media? Thank you much!

I just tried it and your right, that link in Asus site is down right now. Wait til tomorrow and try it again. It is not a link straight to the download but to a website with a list of drivers for your motherboard.

As soon as Asus gets their site up again you will see what I mean.

I do know that the ATI links in their FAQ section I pulled are no longer good due to the revamping of ATI's website. However you can get a gist of the information and find the patch by doing a search.