• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Help

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Hardass

Senior Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2001
WU 92% complete and rig reboots. Now will not let me back in VM.
 

Attachments

  • net8.jpg
    net8.jpg
    184.1 KB · Views: 135

Adak

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2006
Did you sign in just before trying this, as su (super user)?

su <enter>
enter user name <enter>
enter password <enter>

Be careful with the password because the cursor will not echo your keystrokes to the screen.
 
OP
Hardass

Hardass

Senior Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2001
Did you sign in just before trying this, as su (super user)?

su <enter>
enter user name <enter>
enter password <enter>

Be careful with the password because the cursor will not echo your keystrokes to the screen.

Got in, chmod +x fah6 did the trick. But lost another big unit that was 92% done.:temper:
 

Adak

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2006
That's a shame on the loss of the WU.

Linux is weird that way though. You can run a file one time, as a super user, but 5 minutes later, you can't, because it's booted you down from that status.

Glad you got it sorted out, now.
 
OP
Hardass

Hardass

Senior Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2001
And now will not reload a new one.
Code:
[email protected]:~$ cd ./folding
[email protected]:~/folding$ ./fah6 -smp 8 -bigadv -verbosity 9

Note: Please read the license agreement (fah6 -license). Further 
use of this software requires that you have read and accepted this agreement.

8 cores detected


--- Opening Log file [January 9 01:55:35 UTC] 


# Linux SMP Console Edition ###################################################
###############################################################################

                       [email protected] Client Version 6.24R3

                          http://folding.stanford.edu

###############################################################################
###############################################################################

Launch directory: /home/vm/folding
Executable: ./fah6
Arguments: -smp 8 -bigadv -verbosity 9 -smp 8 -bigadv -verbosity 9
 

Adak

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2006
And now will not reload a new one.
Code:
[email protected]:~$ cd ./folding
[email protected]:~/folding$ ./fah6 -smp 8 -bigadv -verbosity 9

Note: Please read the license agreement (fah6 -license). Further 
use of this software requires that you have read and accepted this agreement.

8 cores detected


--- Opening Log file [January 9 01:55:35 UTC] 


# Linux SMP Console Edition ###################################################
###############################################################################

                       [email protected] Client Version 6.24R3

                          http://folding.stanford.edu

###############################################################################
###############################################################################

Launch directory: /home/vm/folding
Executable: ./fah6
Arguments: -smp 8 -bigadv -verbosity 9 [B][COLOR="Red"]-smp 8 -bigadv -verbosity 9 [/COLOR][/B]

You need to set up the client so it has just one half of the flags. I've marked the duplicates in red - they have to go.

Are you trying to confuzzle the FAH servers? :D
 

Jolly-Swagman

Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2007
listed twice
Arguments: -smp 8 -bigadv -verbosity 9 -smp 8 -bigadv -verbosity 9

Have you got -smp 8 -bigadv -verbosity 9 also in the Alternative Arguments too when you set up config



Edit -- Adak beat me too it..
 
OP
Hardass

Hardass

Senior Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2001
Shut it down, too tired to fool with it. Was going to switch out hardware anyway.
 
OP
Hardass

Hardass

Senior Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2001
Back up soon. Installing Vista 64 on it now figured I would try this one. 9800gx2 arrived today as well.
 

dylskee

Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2005
Location
Central MA
62,000 Point WU?!?! either that's a big 'ole typeo or I've missed a lot while I was gone.

Not a typeo, the -bigadv and the bonus for finishing early will get you BIG points. Just finished another 62,000 pointer should be showing on my stats by 9:00 pm tonight.
 

Adak

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2006
Gary:
You've missed a lot, Gary!

The extra big WU's are an extra big deal - get on them if you have something with 8 cores that can fold very intensive WU's, for short deadlines.

Hardass:
How are you doing with removing the extra flags?
 
OP
Hardass

Hardass

Senior Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2001
Gary:
You've missed a lot, Gary!

The extra big WU's are an extra big deal - get on them if you have something with 8 cores that can fold very intensive WU's, for short deadlines.

Hardass:
How are you doing with removing the extra flags?

Installed Vista, VM up an running, but can not see it on Vista either. But it is running.
 

Adak

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2006
Unfortunately, I can't help you with the kind of set up you have. I only use NotFred's, so I never see the Linux terminal as you do. What I need is right there in the VM Window, and you set your monitoring software to the name the VM shows you. It's like "fold-4ACB", and I have to tell the monitoring software that this is a VM.

I don't even KNOW how to set up your configuration. I believe Charles has some of his rigs set up that way, though. What install directions did you follow? I should really read up on it.
 

Adak

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2006
Well oddly, I've used that guide quite some time ago, (before Sydney joined our team, actually), and it was a bit different), to set up folding in native Ubuntu. I didn't share anything though, and there was no VM. Just Ubuntu, and folding. FahMon monitors them, (there was no HFM then), but you have to be plugged into that rig to see what's going on - no network.

Sure, Ive changed them over for the bigadv WU's, but that was small potatoes to do.

Looks like you've got the VM software underneath Ubuntu, yes?

Do you have FahMon or HFM working yet?

Samba status is ?

I wasn't paying a lot of attention to the Samba stuff, because I don't use it, and have no knowledge of it. If you'll spell out exactly where you are, it will help ChasR or somebody else, know just where you're stuck.

And I will read along and see what I can glean from it, as well. What monitoring software are you trying to use? Is that what you "can't see", or do you mean the shared folders on the other rigs?
 
OP
Hardass

Hardass

Senior Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2001
Well oddly, I've used that guide quite some time ago, (before Sydney joined our team, actually), and it was a bit different), to set up folding in native Ubuntu. I didn't share anything though, and there was no VM. Just Ubuntu, and folding. FahMon monitors them, (there was no HFM then), but you have to be plugged into that rig to see what's going on - no network.

Sure, Ive changed them over for the bigadv WU's, but that was small potatoes to do.

Looks like you've got the VM software underneath Ubuntu, yes?

Do you have FahMon or HFM working yet?

Samba status is ?

VM Software under Ubuntu? No idea what this means!
Do you have FahMon or HFM working yet? No does not show on network.
Samba status unknown.