• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Here it is!!!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

largen101

Registered
Joined
Dec 8, 2005
This post is a follow up to my last http://www.ocforums.com/showthread.php?t=428952

I have settled on the following

Case: Cooler Master Centurion 531 KC-531-SSN1 $50
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 3700+ San Diego 1GhzFSB Socket 939 $234
Motherboard: Chaintech VNF4 Socket 939 Nvidia nforce4 ATX $69
Memory:Corsair Value Select 1GB(2x512kb)240 Pin ddr2 sdram (pc2 4200) $64
PSU: Fortron Source FSP400-60THN-R Blue Storm $57
HD: Segate Barracuda 7200.7 160GB 7200rpm IDE Ultra ATA 100 $82.50
GPU: Sapphire 586L Radeon x300se 128MB 64-bit PCI Express x16 Low Profile $49
Sound:Chain Tech AV-710 8 (7.1) Channels 24-bit 192 KHZ PCI interface $25

What is a decent DVD burner to round out the system?

Well that's it, if anyone has any better recomendations or see something that won't work please let me know.

Otherwise:

1. I plan on running XP 64 but don't use any 64bit programs will this be a problem?

2. I want to install the hard drive from my old computer????

3. Once all this is put together is there a C:/ screen ready to load the o/s or is there some formating before that step

4. The above Cosair Memory came with different pins I have 240 is that correct??

Thanks again for everyones help I hope this turns out to be a fun rewarding experience instead of a regretable nightmare!!
 

wa77ss

Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2005
Location
Virginia
Why run 64 bit if your just gonna have to run a 32 bit emulator the whole time so you can use 32 bit apps ? If I were you I would use 32 bit WinXP

Also I dont think AMD motherboards support DDR2 right now, you might want to check that out.
 

Soichiro

Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2005
Location
Indianapolis
AMD motherboards won't support DDR2 until socket M2 (i think that's what it's called) comes out next year. And Windows 64 is really lacking as far as driver support, so for now just get windows XP. As for the DVD burner, Lite-on is a good brand. Just don't buy from Sony... We're boycotting them.
 

David

Forums Super Moderator
Joined
Feb 20, 2001
largen101 said:
This post is a follow up to my last http://www.ocforums.com/showthread.php?t=428952

I have settled on the following

Case: Cooler Master Centurion 531 KC-531-SSN1 $50
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 3700+ San Diego 1GhzFSB Socket 939 $234
Motherboard: Chaintech VNF4 Socket 939 Nvidia nforce4 ATX $69
Memory:Corsair Value Select 1GB(2x512kb)240 Pin ddr2 sdram (pc2 4200) $64
PSU: Fortron Source FSP400-60THN-R Blue Storm $57
HD: Segate Barracuda 7200.7 160GB 7200rpm IDE Ultra ATA 100 $82.50
GPU: Sapphire 586L Radeon x300se 128MB 64-bit PCI Express x16 Low Profile $49
Sound:Chain Tech AV-710 8 (7.1) Channels 24-bit 192 KHZ PCI interface $25

What is a decent DVD burner to round out the system?

Well that's it, if anyone has any better recomendations or see something that won't work please let me know.

Otherwise:

1. I plan on running XP 64 but don't use any 64bit programs will this be a problem?

As far as I know, there is no point, or little gain at the moment.

[qupte]
2. I want to install the hard drive from my old computer????
[/quote]

You can do that, but will want to do a fresh install of Windows as the current install will have all the old drivers.


3. Once all this is put together is there a C:/ screen ready to load the o/s or is there some formating before that step

You boot off the Windows XP CD and it's step by step installation instructions. Having a second PC handy with access to IRC and/or the forums may be useful if you get stuck :p


4. The above Cosair Memory came with different pins I have 240 is that correct??

Thanks again for everyones help I hope this turns out to be a fun rewarding experience instead of a regretable nightmare!!


DDR2 will not work in that board. AMD does not go DDR2 till at least April or thereabouts. DDR2 RAM is 240pins and is not physically or electronically compatible with the 184pin DDR slots on that board.
 
OP
L

largen101

Registered
Joined
Dec 8, 2005
Yeah that is the kind of thing I was wanting to check on, obviously I am pretty new,

which of these will work http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...ce=&MaxPrice=&SubCategory=147&Submit=Property

Also i should have been more clear i meant my current HD as a second drive just so I can access the music files on it.

Also what do you guys think of my selections I am pretty excited, I wasn't sure on the case people said the Antec slk 1650b but I didn't like the look and it had a PSU in it, when the Blue Storm came highly reccomended. I just picked XP 64 cause I have a free copy available (leagal). Thanks again for all the help
 
OP
L

largen101

Registered
Joined
Dec 8, 2005
darkcrystal said:
if you plan on overclocking, get better ram(I.E. not value select). the type you need is 184 pin. the most commonly used speed is pc3200 (ddr400).

No overclocking will be done, sorry
 
OP
L

largen101

Registered
Joined
Dec 8, 2005
Bump, no more coments?? If the 64bit is non-important is there a different amd chip with the l2 1g that is cheaper (would have to be significant) Other then that is this thing good to go??? Everything I need?