• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Hi :) First Timer; would like some inputs

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

chrizws

Hi, first time overclocker here, and sorry mods if this is in the wrong forum, please move it as you wish.

I'm trying to go for a cost efficient setup so I can play around with it, since it is my first time overclocking. And please give me some inputs as to whether I should keep or dump some of em, any additional information would be helpful as well. :)

Oh, and sorry if I don't post a link with it since I'm not sure if it'll violate the forum's rules or not.

Aspire X-Dreamer II(Black) ATX Mid-Tower Case with 350W Power Supply, With Window, Model "ATXB4KLW-BK/350"

Corsair Value Select 184 Pin 512MB DDR PC-3200 - OEM

ASUS "A7V8X-X" KT400 Chipset Motherboard for AMD Socket A CPU -RETAIL

AMD Athlon XP 2500+ "Barton", 333 FSB, 512K Cache Processor - Retail

POWERCOLOR ATI RADEON 9200SE Video Card, 128MB DDR, 64-bit, DVI/TV-Out, 8X AGP, Model "R92LE-C3S" -RETAIL

I think that's the utmost basics I'll be getting for now, and as for hard drives, sound cards, etc, I can manage those myself ;)

dicecca112

go for a mobile 2500+, I believe they are cheaper than the normal 2500. Plus you get a better oc. And get a better power supply, a little more money but it will save you money in the long run.

OP
C

chrizws

Ah, thanks for useful tip.

Any specific power supply you'd recommend?

And what about cooling fans? Any takes on that?

jamesvbon

I personally like antec fans. If you want somthign that really puts out id go for some panaflo's but they are loud as heck. Antecs on the other hand i have found put out alot of air and are decently quiet.

Lat

chrizws said:

the kt400 chipset is old, and you would probably be much much better off with a nforce2 mobo