• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

High idle core/memory speeds at 144hz?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

J0ker

Registered
Joined
Dec 3, 2015
Location
Colorado
At 120hz my idle core and memory speeds are fine, but as soon as I set my monitor to 144hz they drastically increase. Anyway to fix this?

29bj3ft.png


20za1ad.png
 

EarthDog

Gulper Nozzle Co-Owner
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Location
Buckeyes!
Perhaps it can handle the lower frequency at 2D/idle clocks, but not the higher 144Hz frequency? Not a clue. I don't have a 144Hz monitor.

If you reboot, but are still on 144Hz, does it still raise the clocks?
 
OP
J

J0ker

Registered
Joined
Dec 3, 2015
Location
Colorado
Perhaps it can handle the lower frequency at 2D/idle clocks, but not the higher 144Hz frequency? Not a clue. I don't have a 144Hz monitor.

If you reboot, but are still on 144Hz, does it still raise the clocks?

Reboot doesn't help :/

From what I read this happens when running multiple monitors at different refresh rates
 

sobe

Unscathed Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2005
My understanding of this was that a driver update fixed it some driver versions back. After I get off work later tonight I'll hop on the pc I still have running off of an Acer XB270HU and see the clocks after changing to 144Hz. A prior driver fixed this issue though as this was a widespread thing last year.
 
OP
J

J0ker

Registered
Joined
Dec 3, 2015
Location
Colorado
My understanding of this was that a driver update fixed it some driver versions back. After I get off work later tonight I'll hop on the pc I still have running off of an Acer XB270HU and see the clocks after changing to 144Hz. A prior driver fixed this issue though as this was a widespread thing last year.

I have the latest nvidia drivers
 

sobe

Unscathed Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2005
Bah, well I can confirm the issue on my end as well then, I haven't payed any attention to it as of late, but I guess one of the updates borked whatever fix was offered as idle temps do stay up with 144Hz enabled and drops down to 100MHz as soon as I switch to 120Hz or lower. I don't remember which driver it was that fixed it as it was several driver versions ago.
 
OP
J

J0ker

Registered
Joined
Dec 3, 2015
Location
Colorado
Bah, well I can confirm the issue on my end as well then, I haven't payed any attention to it as of late, but I guess one of the updates borked whatever fix was offered as idle temps do stay up with 144Hz enabled and drops down to 100MHz as soon as I switch to 120Hz or lower. I don't remember which driver it was that fixed it as it was several driver versions ago.

So now I'm confused. Is this a hardware issue, or a driver issue? I can confirm that when I run one monitor at 144hz nothing changes, but when I enable the second one (60hz. I read that running two monitors at different refresh rates causes this problem, but I have no way of testing this) both core and memory clocks bump up to pretty much max -_-

To simplify this.

One monitor running at 144hz core/memory clocks idle fine
Two monitors running at 60hz core/memory clocks idle fine
One monitor running at 60hz and one running at 120hz core/memory clocks idle fine
One monitor running at 60hz and one running at 144hz core/memory clocks bump up to almost max

Anyone have any insight on this?
 
Last edited:

sobe

Unscathed Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2005
I tested with single-monitor and the issue was present at 144Hz. This is a driver issue though. I saw some threads on the GeForce forums, so I'm sure if someone reported it it will be fixed again in one o the next large updates. The most current driver that was released last week, it is advised you stay away from that one, it's been killing off GPUs like the old AMD drivers were doing.
 

EarthDog

Gulper Nozzle Co-Owner
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Location
Buckeyes!
The most current driver that was released last week, it is advised you stay away from that one, it's been killing off GPUs like the old AMD drivers were doing.
Again? They just did that a couple weeks ago... it was resolved the same day and a beta came out... another two days later it was WHQL.

So its happening again?!!!!!!!
 

sobe

Unscathed Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2005
Again? They just did that a couple weeks ago... it was resolved the same day and a beta came out... another two days later it was WHQL.

So its happening again?!!!!!!!

lol yes, again. It's like the lottery with drivers these days at both red and green camps :D