• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

High polygon count?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Eil Atan

What is the high polygon count and is mine too low? In 3dMarks2k1 I got 16.0 M/Triangles with 1 Light and 3.01 M/Triangles with 8 lights. What the heck is an M/Triangle? Educate me please...

Megatexels I believe, a way of measuring the video card's capability to render images (using tiny shapes).

I'm no expert, but I'm pretty sure it's not a misleading answer.

Hey I just noticed you have an A7M mobo, so do I. I compared my 3dmark score to that of a "slower" system which beat mine and I noticed that the only thing I really fell behind in was the high polygon count. Strange... I believe the slower system was a pentium 3 933 mhz system with a similar video card to mine (leadtek geforce 2 gts)..

I know the A7M is supposed to be a top performer so maybe we are doing something wrong with our mobos? I know that the southbridge on the A7M is via, so maybe we should install the 4 in 1 drivers and see what happens? Not likely to make much a difference as far as the AGP goes though,since thats on the northbridge I think... I may look around for a more current version of the AGP miniport driver as well. I have no idea what else could be going on, I certainly hope it is not just a slow board. I was told otherwise by quite a few people.

Here's my system and 3dmark2001 score:
AMD athlon tbird 1.33ghz w/ 266mhz fsb
Asus A7M266, running in "turbo" mode (havent messed with any other settings, except agp aperture - 128)
256 Megs micron pc2100 DDR SDRAM running fine at 2 x 2 x 2 :)
Leadtek Geforce 2 GTS 64mb card w/ 12.41 detonator drivers, core running at 220mhz and memory running at 366 mhz juusst fine..
(after turning details off and what not)
score: about 3500-3600