• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

High voltage on AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Dieter01

Registered
Hi,

I have no experience overclocking but based my attempts on various guides... So far I have only adjusted the multiplier from 17 to 19 and increased CPU voltage from the stock 1.400V to 1.475V. I was hoping for the machine to be stable at 1.45, but failed after 30 mins on Prime 95. Then increased in steps to 1.475V, still not stable. Max CPU temp was 46 deg C.

I understand required voltage will vary, but isn't this a bit high? Still within normal? Will the CPU age and potentially become less stable over time? My machine is from 2010. I rarely use the shut down button, turn off monitor and never put the machine to sleep...

System:
Motherboard: ASUS M4A79T Deluxe, Socket-AM3
CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Quad Core
RAM: Kingston DDR3 HyperX 1333MHz 4 x 2GB DDR3, CL7-7-7-20
Case: Fractal Design Define R2 Titanium Grey
PSU: Cooler Master Silent Pro M700 700W
GPU: XFX Radeon HD 5770 1GB GDDR5
HDD: WD VelociRaptor® 300GB SATA, 10000RPM, 16MB, 3 GB/s
Fans: 2 x Fractal Design Silent Pro 120mm (both blowing into case)
CPU cooler: Corsair H100i

I plan to swap all fans (including H100i fans) with Notcua version to improve SPL, the machine is running a bit loud. But I don't think that is necessarily relevant for my question... Is this high voltage to be expected? Is there something I might have overlooked?

I did the OC'ing in BIOS. I only changed the multiplier and CPU voltage, nothing else. Temperature readings are using Core Temp. I also tried the Corsair Link software but for some reason it is mixing the CPU temp and motherboard temp. BIOS CPU readings correspond with Core Temp though.

Thanks for helping :)