• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Higher temps with vcore offset than manual, am i missing something?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

seadoggo

Hey guys

I would appreciate some advice!

I'm pretty new to overclocking, although have had my current build OC'd for 6 years on motherboard preset to 3.9Ghz, I run Hackintosh and Windows dualbooted on seperate SSDs, mostly using Mac side.

Build -
i7 4930k with Noctua NH-D14
Rampage 4 Black Edition MOBO
Gtx 770 4gb GDDR5
G.SKILL Ripjaws Z Series 32GB (8 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 2133

I often have my PC on idle whilst working (video editing and colour grading) so want to optimise for longevity especially as its quite an old build now!

I started out this OC with 4.3Ghz OC using XMP set to 1.2 vcore manual - that was all. I was getting good temps and not much higher than 75c on a 30 minute Prime95 1344 test, XTU was a breeze. Using XMP with a 100blck and 100 cpu strap keeps my RAM at 2133, if i change the CPU strap to 1.25 then it flips the RAM up to 2600 and i cant boot.

So I turned vcore offset on +0.005, and temps were hitting up to 85c on Prime95 within first 5 minutes so I flipped it to negative offset and dropped to 4.2GHz, testing my way down to -0.100 offset. This lands me back at 1.2vcore under load as per CPU-z, whilst Core Temp says 1.286 at idle and goes up to 1.310 under load. I get max temp of 70c with XTU and 78 with Prime95 1344 test.

Are there any issues that could arise from using such a high offset? I havent done longer tests yet but it hasnt had any issues, Ideally i'd like to get temps down a bit further to help with longevity, but not that sure what the best approach is with custom settings. Would adjusting LLC to 75% help with the offset at all?

Why do i get much lower temps with a manual vcore vs using the offset?