• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Highest FSB on 8K3A?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

dlyall

Registered
Joined
Sep 12, 2002
Location
UK
What's the highest FSB people are running reliably at?

Mine doesn't like anything higher than 169 without reboots. Upped the voltage on both RAM and CPU with no joy. I'm thinking that the chipset is becoming unstable or it could be one of my boards.

Thanks
Dave
 

n6b72g

Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2003
Im able to run 205 FSB totally stable. This is with no extra northbridge cooling. My video card seems to be the only thing holding me back from going higher, since this board does not have a PCI or AGP lock. You may want to try flashing your bios as well. The 3409 bios helped me out tremendously. Before I couldnt go higher than 190 without problems.

I have a few questions for you as well. What type of Power Supply are you running? Also what RAM are you using? Reboots could be a sign that your 12V or 5V line is too low.
 
OP
D

dlyall

Registered
Joined
Sep 12, 2002
Location
UK
n6b72g

Power supply is a 350W Enermax. 12v is usually around 12.2 and 5V is around 4.95 so well with tolerances. RAM is Corsair XMS2700 which I suppose is spec'd for 166MHz but I've heard of this going much higher.

I am tempted to have a look at the northbridge cooling but I think it's something else as the reboots only seem to happen under load e.g. seti.

Maybe I just need some more vcore.

Dave
 

n6b72g

Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2003
dlyall, the rails do look fine. If your processor is overclocked, then adding some extra voltage should help out. When I took off my northbridge heatsink, it was only held on by thermal tape. I scraped the tape off, and applied some arctic alumina adhesive.
 
Last edited:
OP
D

dlyall

Registered
Joined
Sep 12, 2002
Location
UK
What voltages are you using to get that? Your also liquid cooled which will make a big difference I'm sure.

Dave
 

Rottys-R-Us

Jester
Joined
Feb 12, 2001
Location
So Cal.USA.
dlyall said:
What voltages are you using to get that? Your also liquid cooled which will make a big difference I'm sure.

Dave

1.90 cv, this cpu wont run stable @ anything less than 1.90

Mem volt @ 2.80 on fastest setting. Wont run stable on Turbo.

It runs folding 24/7 also.