• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

hmm.....3 grams of Artic Silver II doing 20-30 CPU's? since when?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Shadow ÒÓ

Mod in Hiding
Joined
Dec 20, 2000
Location
Pensacola, Florida USA
got a deal.....3 grams for $8 including shipping. (yea you may have seen my post in vendor discussion)

But it says it will do from 20-30 CPU installations. I find this VERY hard to believe but I've only done 2 so far......any comments?
 

asmodean

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 21, 2001
Location
Finland
Shadow ÒÓ (Apr 06, 2001 03:12 a.m.):
got a deal.....3 grams for $8 including shipping. (yea you may have seen my post in vendor discussion)

But it says it will do from 20-30 CPU installations. I find this VERY hard to believe but I've only done 2 so far......any comments?

No way in hell it'll do 20-30 CPU's... Maybe with a core the size of an atom.
I'm using that and every time I use it, it floods out of the syringe, giving me twice as much stuff I need...
 

Nevin

Mad Scientist from Arctic Silver
Joined
Feb 27, 2001
Remember that it only takes a small little dab in the corner to start. Just a little bigger than a head of a pin, about 1/6th of a BB. A lot of people start with way too much and end up scraping off most of it as they spread it. Start with what looks like not nearly enough and you will be surprised how much area it covers once it is spread to working thickness.

A few weeks ago I used a tube to test coverage in actual use. With some care and a razor blade, I was able to cover a PIII 112 times including several applications where I started with too much.

Specifying 20 to 30 CPU coverage is actually quite conservative and allows for a lot of waste. There is about 1.2 cc of material in the syringe. Mathematically, that is enough to cover 30 CPUs with a layer 0.013" thick. This would be a layer 4 to 5 times thicker than optimum. At a layer thickness of 0.003", it is enough to cover 130 CPUs. I doubt anyone will actually cover 130 CPUs with a single 3-gram tube, but 20 to 30 CPUs should be easy.

Nevin House
Arctic Silver LLC
 

Zombie

Registered
Joined
Dec 22, 2000
Not trying to start anything here, but I would like to state for the record that what I read about the Overclockers Store ripping off Arctic Silver, is in my opinion very "snake in the grass" like. They hired a chemist to break down the contents of Arctic Silver, labeled it their own, and are selling it at a cheaper price. From all the bad feedback that I've read online about the Overclockers Store, I wouldn't buy a rat turd off of those guys. It would probably arrive 3 weeks late and end up being the wrong kind of turd....
 

dimmreaper

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2000
Location
home
I'd believe it would cover than much, I've done more than 100CPUs with a 10gram blister packet of the AOS Silicone HSC(good stuff for the price).
 
E

el

Guest
Welcome Nevin!!!

Your product rocks!

you can easily cover over 20CPU's with 3grams. Do you recommend a product to use on chipsets?
 

Colin

Arctic Silver Senior
Joined
Dec 19, 2000
Nevin showed me how he applies Artic Silver today. I have no doubt in his claims for anything regarding Artic Silver. If anything, the claims are conservative.

When I got home, I did a new Bird and a new Duron with the residue left on the tip of the syringe from the last time I used it on a pelt. BTW, when applying AS to a pelt, you will be able to scrape enough off the first side to do the second.
 
OP
Shadow ÒÓ

Shadow ÒÓ

Mod in Hiding
Joined
Dec 20, 2000
Location
Pensacola, Florida USA
Colin (Apr 07, 2001 11:46 p.m.):
Nevin showed me how he applies Artic Silver today. I have no doubt in his claims for anything regarding Artic Silver. If anything, the claims are conservative.

When I got home, I did a new Bird and a new Duron with the residue left on the tip of the syringe from the last time I used it on a pelt. BTW, when applying AS to a pelt, you will be able to scrape enough off the first side to do the second.

so you're saying an "ultra thin" layer? can you see the die through the artic silver?
Also is this on lapped hsf's only? Since an OEM hsf is rather rough, I'd assume you'll need more to fill those gaps.
 
K

Kryten

Guest
Shadow ÒÓ (Apr 06, 2001 03:12 a.m.):
got a deal.....3 grams for $8 including shipping. (yea you may have seen my post in vendor discussion)

But it says it will do from 20-30 CPU installations. I find this VERY hard to believe but I've only done 2 so far......any comments?

I would like to see someone get 20 - 30 CPU's out of a tube, I'm lucky to get 1 after all I've got 10 fingers and thumbs to cover as well.
 

Colin

Arctic Silver Senior
Joined
Dec 19, 2000
Shadow ÒÓ (Apr 08, 2001 02:35 a.m.):
so you're saying an "ultra thin" layer? can you see the die through the artic silver?
Also is this on lapped hsf's only? Since an OEM hsf is rather rough, I'd assume you'll need more to fill those gaps.

Ultra thin but you can't see the die. Works fine with stock a HS. If you notice, there is often an impression on the HS of the codes from chip. That's tight. It does not take much grease to fill in the gaps.
 

markedmundb

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 18, 2000
Location
Kent, UK
I've gooped and regooped my Celly CPU about 12 different times and did a mate's 1Ghz Athlon since buying some Artic Silver (original) goop and the 6.5g syringe hasn't even gone down one third yet.

The syringe is a pain in the arse, tho. I always find myself with at least twice as goop as I actually need, and most gets left on the surgical glove, after a dab with the finger to remove the excess, so I can see how they can say a 3g tube will cover 20-30.

Next thing to be gooped will be my 486 DX2 66. I'm trying to work out a way of putting a Celly retail HSF on it (overkill I know, but I'm aiming for 100 or 150 if the board will do it).

BTW, out of interest, are we talking about www.overclockerz.com here?
 

Colin

Arctic Silver Senior
Joined
Dec 19, 2000
I find the trick is to apply pressure on the syringe until the goop comes out and then suck most of it back in. It helps to hold the plunger's base on a bench and use the other hand to manipulate the syringe body.
 

asmodean

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 21, 2001
Location
Finland
Okay, I wasn't specific enough about the stuff. It propably can cover that many cores, but it gives a sea out of the syringe. That's what I meant. Gotta try that "suck-it-back" trick next time I use.
 

DocClock aka MadClocker

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2000
Location
Stockton Cal, USA, Earth
I use two hands, one to hold the back plunger in my palm with my fingers on the side thingys, and I use my othe hand to help pressure it out, and when I feel the plunger start to move, I remove my other handand it doesn't squrt too much, but I also use the "suk bak" trick too, and I have done every chip I own, and a few others for freinds...and I haven't made a dent in what I have...I think the silver inside will corrode b4 I use all the stuff.
I also always take my setup apart right after adding the goop, just to see if I have too much, (and I usualy do) then wipe off one side, and put it back together
 

sfa ok

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2001
Location
Colorado/Chicago
I can see myself covering CPUs with a tube easily. Probably 30. And that's scraping the extra I put on off. I don't see where all the trouble is coming from, just be careful and put very light pressure on the syringe.
 

Megahurtz

Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2001
I can only add that the amount of friction between the plunger and the body of the tube is excessive.

I have a 6.5G tube, and unless I go into a larger scale production, this will be all that I ever need.

I know that I have enought to do many more than 30 Cpu dies, as I have done more than the equivalent.

It's certainly possible.

T