• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

HOLY SH** MY 12v IS 16v!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

snowmobile74

Member
Joined
Oct 25, 2001
Location
Iowa
:eek: um yea what the hell could someone give me a breakdown of what this will effect I have no idea how long this has been runing like this and getting a little nervious . . .

hmm this might be why my nic card stoped working
 

rogerdugans

Linux challenged Senior, not that it stops me...
Joined
Dec 28, 2001
Location
Corner of No and Where
If you have a multimeter, check it at a molex NOW.
IF the reading is correct get a new psu:(

IF the reading is NOT correct, you may have a mobo problem:(:(
Are you using the mobo headers to power anything?
Do you have any high amp fans plugged into mobo headers?
How many devices are you running in that pc?

My old VP6 mobo had a similar problem for a while, although I did NOT find the cause- I moved form one case to another and a week later the 12v was rising with all other voltages ok.
I could not find a problem, but after two weeks my 12v was around 14v and I started to smell something funny. Frequent crashes were starting to occur.

A trace on my mobo burned out:( and the board was never the same; RIP VP6.

I would try to find exactly what the problem is fast, my friend: that is too much voltage to be going to the motherboard.
 
OP
snowmobile74

snowmobile74

Member
Joined
Oct 25, 2001
Location
Iowa
well for time being im not going to use the computer the thing I think is odd is that it hasint crashed may just be that linux roX!

its been a while since I used a MM eh can you refresh my memory? I know to set it on DC V after that I am a little confused

System Specs:
KT7A-R
T-Bird [email protected] 1.9V (un-modded)
4 60GB Maxtor Hard drives
2 CD-Roms (48X burner and a 48X reader)
7 80MM Fans 1 92MM fan 120MM delta on the 5v line (ran the delta at 7V for a while think that could be it?)
2 system blowers
GeForce2 TI 64
SoundBlaster live
generic NIC
Water cooling is completely independant from the computer power

the suspect power supply is a 400W Antec
 
OP
snowmobile74

snowmobile74

Member
Joined
Oct 25, 2001
Location
Iowa
well I took another look back at what the reeding on the MM was for the 5 volt and tried to judje it from that

looks to me like the 5 volt is right on par acording to the MM now it allso reads that the 12 volt is slightly over 12 like 12.2 or so well thats a relief ... or is it? so would my motherboard be the problem? is it going to "die"?


oh wait now I remember one day I started up my computer and smelled something burning I was turning on all of them at once so I wasint exacly sure wich one it was but I shut them down and re stared a few finding no problem ..... crap
 

RangerJoe

All that is Man!
Joined
Nov 24, 2001
Location
Stillwater, Oklahoma
hmm...well seeing as how you have a ****LOAD of stuff in your case..and only on a 400 watt antec...this could be your problem..too many things running on the 12V and not many on the 5V
 
OP
snowmobile74

snowmobile74

Member
Joined
Oct 25, 2001
Location
Iowa
*points to pervious post*
no its the motherboard dude read the rest

the multi meter says its 12V but bios says 16
 
OP
snowmobile74

snowmobile74

Member
Joined
Oct 25, 2001
Location
Iowa
sure you didnt miss count the tick marks? er or is it digital...

I was thinking about it and thought to myself its measuring this voltage at 16 logicaly wouldnt that mean that some part of the motherboard is getting the 16 volts?
 

rogerdugans

Linux challenged Senior, not that it stops me...
Joined
Dec 28, 2001
Location
Corner of No and Where
When my Abit board messed up and read high voltages the PSU was right in spec- and yet MBM5 was reporting MUCH higher voltages:(
I still do not know just what caused it, or if there is a real fix- I am not an electronics wiz.......can't read the codes on a resistor, etc.!

What I do know is what happened with mine: Soldered a wire across the visibly burnt trace and it would run as a network pc, but NOT with a local user (?)
A few months later it started crashing a lot, so I shut it down.
A few months after that I started up again and it ran fine.
A few months later it started acting up again.
A few months later it was fine.

I found a cheap duallie mobo and replaced it.

My guess is that something got wrecked in the voltage regulation circuits and was sporadically showing up- it sounds like yours MAY be the same.......
 
OP
snowmobile74

snowmobile74

Member
Joined
Oct 25, 2001
Location
Iowa
hc1001 said:
u might need a BIOS update.....im sure they will release a fix for that.

....?

well I have had this board for like a year or so and uh the last time that took it out of the case (around april 20th). it was NOT reporting 16 volts
and last time that I check the bios was before I re-aranged my room. right after re-arrangin my room (did this about 2-3 weeks ago) I hooked up my comp and smelled something burning. I was starting a few comps at the time so I wasint sure exactly which one it was. well I realized (ref to previous posts) that this was my voltage regulator frying itself beyond this I am unsure how this will effect the board

btw all I bought a new board cuz I dont want this one to fail for TuxLAN so I just bough one anyway here it is

OCSystem 512MB PC2700 333MHz CL2/CAS 2 DDR SDRAM from www.ocsystem.com
EPOX EP-8K3A+ (REV 1.1) VIA KT333 CHIPSET from www.mwave.com
AMD Athlon 1600+/266 FSB XP Processor from www.newegg.com
 

Mr. Chambers

Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2001
Location
Iowa
snowmobile74 said:
OCSystem 512MB PC2700 333MHz CL2/CAS 2 DDR SDRAM from www.ocsystem.com

i'm sorry.... www.resellerratings.com plug in OCSystem in there, they are a very shady company at best.. just overclock other people's RAM and slap their own labels on... IF you even get the RAM.. you'll be lucky if it runs in spec :p least thats my experience with them and i'm not alone. your mileage may vary
 
OP
snowmobile74

snowmobile74

Member
Joined
Oct 25, 2001
Location
Iowa
gee I took a look at the back of the motherboard the other day. Found one of the traces had some black stuff on it and then, I noticed that one had broken and come off the motherboard. I'd say thats the problem im supprised this thing still works!

note: the trace is large and runs from near the memory (even though this doesn effect the meomory) all the way close to the motherboard bathery

allso I would just like to say the ironic thing about this board is it had previously been voltage modded. the board worked fine for a long time moded like this. but it broke under normal usage he he