• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Holy ****!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Maxvla

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2002
Location
OKC
Tonight i decided to try adding another stick of ddr into my system to see if it would improve my UT2k3 load times (takes freakin forever)... anyways so i grab the extra stick of pc2100 out of my other machine and plop it in the main pc.

well to make a long story short no matter how i arrange the two sticks of ddr my computer will not boot. so i decided to test my stick of pc2100 and see what i get since i've never had the computer able to push to high speeds.

Right now my stick of pc2100 is allowing me to type this while running at cas2.5 @ 196mhz! :eek::eek::eek:

anyone else have some pc2100 that performs like this?

btw its crucial DDR :) go crucial!!!
 

Warlord2

Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Location
Bakersfield,CA
DAMN NICE STICK!

I have the same ram and can hit 152 fsb with the most aggresive settings, cant really go higher I think because my mobo doesnt have a 1/5 divider.

how far will it go with the most aggresive settings?

good job!:beer:
 
OP
Maxvla

Maxvla

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2002
Location
OKC
well my mobo can go down to cas 1.5 but this 196mhz run is at least aggressive settings. 2.5 7 3 3. still amazing!

at cas2 it can go to about 145mhz before i hafta up the cas.

this is at 2.7v btw.
 

SlowBurn

Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2001
Location
New York
I have 2 sticks of Crucial PC2100 and right now they're running at 175 FSB. I haven't tried to go higher yet, but I will. Just out of curiosity, what voltage are you running your DDR at with 196FSB?
 
OP
Maxvla

Maxvla

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2002
Location
OKC
SlowBurn said:
I have 2 sticks of Crucial PC2100 and right now they're running at 175 FSB. I haven't tried to go higher yet, but I will. Just out of curiosity, what voltage are you running your DDR at with 196FSB?
its running with 2.7volts

btw i just ran sandra... 2892/2917 mb/s which beats out the reference pc3200! :eek:
 
OP
Maxvla

Maxvla

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2002
Location
OKC
SlowBurn said:


:eek:

Holy ****!
i started out thinkin... ok i'll max out about 160mhz or so.

so i get to 133 (standard pc2100) then go to 140, 145, 150, 155, 160, 165, 167 (limit of my cpu)

then i up the divider to 3:4 to go even faster... drop the fsb to 120/160, then up to 130, 140 and i'm not believing this... finally it stops when i try 148mhz. back it down to 147 and its fine.

wow. :burn:
 

Warlord2

Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Location
Bakersfield,CA
I just ran it and got 2198/2126. this is when the computer has been on for 10 hours already, I remember I was trying different setting in the bios and hit 3000's before.
 

SlowBurn

Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2001
Location
New York
Maxvla said:

i started out thinkin... ok i'll max out about 160mhz or so.

so i get to 133 (standard pc2100) then go to 140, 145, 150, 155, 160, 165, 167 (limit of my cpu)

then i up the divider to 3:4 to go even faster... drop the fsb to 120/160, then up to 130, 140 and i'm not believing this... finally it stops when i try 148mhz. back it down to 147 and its fine.

wow. :burn:

Nice!

:clap:
 
OP
Maxvla

Maxvla

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2002
Location
OKC
Warlord2 said:
I just ran it and got 2198/2126. this is when the computer has been on for 10 hours already, I remember I was trying different setting in the bios and hit 3000's before.
3000 with an athlon? i've only seen those kinda numbers with athlons when they are like 210+mhz on the memory.
 

SlowBurn

Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2001
Location
New York
Warlord2 said:
I just ran it and got 2198/2126. this is when the computer has been on for 10 hours already, I remember I was trying different setting in the bios and hit 3000's before.

I don't remember what my memory scores were with Sandra, but when I get home I will take a look, and post them.
 

Warlord2

Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Location
Bakersfield,CA
ok my bad, that was with a different version of sandra. I was using the older version at the time and my best score was 867/1083. I found my benchmark list and what every different setting in the bios effected. I new it was something up there, Im pretty sure I can get 2500's pretty easy if I close some of these programs.
 

Rasputin'sLiver

counselor of clock
Joined
Jun 1, 2002
Location
Cleveland
Nice! I don't truly have sufficient adjectives in my vocabulary to describe how absolutely amazing your incredible ram really is... you are an overclocking ICON! I am honored to be in your presence :beer::rolleyes:
 
Last edited:

eXtraktor

Member
Joined
Jun 11, 2002
Location
Gatineau, Quebec
Very nice indeed, could we see some screenies ;) The best i can get with my PC2100 Micron is 160mhz, im keeping it at 159mhz so my cpu is equal to a 2000+
 
OP
Maxvla

Maxvla

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2002
Location
OKC
eXtraktor said:
Very nice indeed, could we see some screenies ;) The best i can get with my PC2100 Micron is 160mhz, im keeping it at 159mhz so my cpu is equal to a 2000+
pc2100.jpg


and you guys here know me well enough to know i wouldn't doctor a screencap.
 

asw7576

Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2002
Location
Jakarta
Mushkin 256Mb PC3200

I am going to eat my Mushkin PC3200 DDR that won't do 200MHz even at 2.7V..... crunch....crunch..... damm stick!!!
 

mirko_3

Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Location
Italy
I have some generic ram 2100 and it doe 195.5 but it's NOT stable... at vmem 2.9. I'm gonna try the volt mod for my P4S333 and up it to 3.1 soon...;)