• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Home network-via-switch: 2 questions.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Runner30

Hi, I'm new to networking, forgive me my newbieness.
My questions are:
Can I use only 1 IP adress for 2 computers?
Do I have to use firewall ?

Thanks.

1. yes, if you mean ip addresses assigned to you by your isp, each computer will need its own internal ip address if you want to do any normal networking. apparently windows doesnt really need an ip. . . but thats just spooky.

2. no, and i think they are really useless. just causes alot of problems. if you are really hardcore about security, i can teach you to harden your system, but i think as long as you keep your computer patched up, youll be fine. and run an antivirus.

ok, that said, can you tell me more about what you want to do with your network?

Thanks for the reply.
It's just my mother got hold of a antique laptop, she want to access the internet for her Astrololgy hobby.
I would like our 2 computers to be independant in terms of internet traffic, don't want my comp to be always on.
I guess I can setup my own network with internal IPs use my own subnet mask( I'm only to start learning this subject).
Main system uses XP, laptop Win 98.

well you have two options if you dont want your machine to always be on. you can buy or build a dedicated router for the network, or you can purchase an extra publicly addressable ip addresses from your isp, and connect your modem, laptop, and desktop all directly into the switch.

A firewall is a must, more so with broadband. Don't get me started on what my connection was used for when I didn't have a firewall. You will either need two public IPs or a router.

I'm using Cable modem ( no dialer), I have a dynamic IP .