• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Homemade server not 'serving' correctly

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

masitti

Member
Joined
May 16, 2002
Location
Colorado
Ok, I installed Apache 1.3 on an XP Pro box. I set the servername to 127.0.0.1 , port is 80. Apache started up, no problems. Went to http://localhost - awesome! Got the test page. Had a friend go to http://123.456.7.8 - no workie. What are some possible issues and solutions here that I can try? I have two computers connected to a hub, hub is connected to DSL box. Any thoughts or ideas on the subject would be awesome.
 

Smokeys

Member
Joined
May 24, 2003
Location
Toronto, Ontario
Is this 'hub' you are refering to also refered to as a router? If so then you need to forward 80/tcp to the computer with apache.
 
OP
masitti

masitti

Member
Joined
May 16, 2002
Location
Colorado
Smokeys said:
Is this 'hub' you are refering to also refered to as a router? If so then you need to forward 80/tcp to the computer with apache.

It is not a router - however, I figured it out: my ISP blocks port 80 for some odd reason, so I told Apache to use port 85 - and my URL masking/forwarding service accepts http://myip:85 with no problems. :D Thanks for the help!
 

don256us

Uber Folding Senior
Joined
Jul 17, 2003
127.0.0.1 is the loop-back, self test, address. I had to look that up to be sure.

It doesn't go anywhere. Use an address like 192.168.0.1 or anything with the 192.168.0.*

I don't know that it will matter as far as the port.
 

Smokeys

Member
Joined
May 24, 2003
Location
Toronto, Ontario
don256us said:
127.0.0.1 is the loop-back, self test, address. I had to look that up to be sure.

It doesn't go anywhere. Use an address like 192.168.0.1 or anything with the 192.168.0.*

I don't know that it will matter as far as the port.

You are right on the loopback, but i'm confused on what you are saying for the 192.168.0.* range, that range (more specifically 192.168.*) is a private non-routable range and can not be reached over the internet. Please read RFC1918 for specifics, reasons and other private ranges.
 

Arkaine23

Captain Random Senior Evil
Joined
Nov 8, 2001
But if you are behind a NAT, that's what you'd want, and you'd port forward the traffic to that internal IP...
 

don256us

Uber Folding Senior
Joined
Jul 17, 2003
How many IPs does your ISP give you? If you get 2, then you're in luck. You simply need your ISP to give you the IP for your server box. Probably using DHCP.

If you only get one IP, then you need a router. The router would be assigned the IP from your ISP and would then direct traffic to your server as mentioned above.