• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Hot diggity dog! 2.1Ghz from 1700's & KD7

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Nebulous

Señor Senior, Senior
Joined
Oct 11, 2002
Location
The Empire State
Well I was bored lastnite and the fact I could'nt sleep made it worse. Decided to play around with my dualie. Specs:
KD7 master-L
2x XP1700 Tbred B (L5 Modded)
2x SLK-800a's
2x vantec Stealths
40GB Seagate Barracuda
512mb Mushkin
GF2 Ultra (64mb)
Enermax 465w
Win Xp Pro

She's been runnin like a champ with zero issues @ 12.5x150 with 1.6vcore. I know the 1700's can run 2Ghz+ ea. on an NF7-s 2.0. Since I can't get anymore FSB out of the board, decided to go with the upper multi. I pin modded the 15 multi via socket. First time I got an error. Bios only detected 1 cpu. Took it apart and tried again. This time she took. Soon's she booted up I see XP2400+.......(2) Cpu :clap: I did'nt mod the vcore so i set it in bios (1.65v) which is no big deal. Cranked up the FSB/Ratio a tad to 140 and she's running 15x140=2100Mhz with default vcore rock steady stable and Folding away. Not happy with the temps tho. Why the heck does it read the temps high? I've tried different bioses, resteated the hsf several times, my house is AC cooled, side panel is off on the case yet my temps still read high. I touched the sinks and they're normal warm meaning it's not overheating and the sinks are doing the right job. WTF?

2x 1700's @ 2.1Ghz. Can you say booya? :beer:
 

obsolete

Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2003
Location
MN
Thats awesome. I hope to get some what similiar results with the K7D I am getting & the two 1700 T-breds. I have heard that the K7D does not read temps all that accurate. You may want to try a temp probe or something. I use temp probes for all of my systems.

Only thing for me that kind of sooks, is that I don't know what the 1700's will do so..........Basically I'm going to have to mod the cpu for a multiplier of 12+ & hope it can do that.........Same with memory I'll be using. I have a feeling it's going to be a LONG process.

-ºb§

**EDIT** Still love the pic. Neb. :D
 

attack

Member
Joined
May 23, 2002
Also those SLK's sometimes don't work the best with low CFM fans. If possible put slightly more powerful fans on them (28db fans are basicly just as inaudible as the 21db stealths, and they can push a little more.....or you could put 2 92mm's diagonally. This will lower your temps and let you go even higher!
 
OP
Nebulous

Nebulous

Señor Senior, Senior
Joined
Oct 11, 2002
Location
The Empire State
Thanx guyz!

aj, I'm gonna see if i get 2 SFII's before i go any higher.

obsolete, you don't need to mod the chips for the 12 multi. The K7D will go up to 12.5. Hope you get the results you want. Glad you still like the pic ;)
 

obsolete

Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2003
Location
MN
Yeah sorry, thats pretty much what I meant. Except I thought it went to 12. Good to know I'll have .5 more head room. I'll have one watercooled & one air cooled (don't ask). Both the water & air will do quite well, so I'll probably shoot for a 14x multi or something & hope for 150 fsb.

I have a feeling though...... :bang head

Just out of curiousity, what kind of memory is that Mushkin? I'm hoping to use Corsair PC3200 2x256. Non ECC. Wondering if maybe you had luck with Non ECC.
 
OP
Nebulous

Nebulous

Señor Senior, Senior
Joined
Oct 11, 2002
Location
The Empire State
The mushy i have is non ecc. PC2100 512mb stick. I had this ram running PC3200 speeds with no sweat at all.
 

cmcquistion

IT Director Senior
Joined
Oct 15, 2001
Location
Tennessee
Having the side of your case off won't necessarily lower your temps in a dually. You could have a problem with hot air recycling. A well planned airflow pattern is actually far more beneficial than leaving the case open, because it pulls hot air out of the case.

2100 MHz @ 1.65 Vcore with those chips is going to cause some high temps. 55-60C with good aircooling would be normal.

P.S. The motherboard model number is "K7D", not "KD7". I believe there was a KD7, but it was a single-CPU board.