• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Hot HTPC - Help!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Geken

Hi Guys,

This is my first post to the forums and I am a total noob tube to everything involving overclocking. I am pretty familiar with hardware and have built a few pc's in my day, but I am no were close to the expertise demonstrated on this forum.

I've browsed around and searched, but I am not really sure what to do about my problem.

I have an HTPC, that I put together that really is the fastest computer I've ever owned and doubles as my video encoder/gaming machine.

So here's the deal, when I first put the thing together the CPU was idling in the low 40's and reaching 90 degrees under load (encoding video)

Obviously I freaked out, reseated everything reapplyed some new paste on the stock cooler and now I'm idling at around 43 - 47 C and load puts me at around 69 -72 C.

The biggest factor here is that this is an HTPC running an i7 860 in a Thermaltake DH101 Case and an 8800GTS 320. It's also in a relatively enclosed space inside of an entertainment center. The back is open, the sides are pretty close and tight, and there is about 3 inches of headroom above the case and before the next shelf.

My question is simply what can I do that is cost-effective that will keep this thing cooler. And if not, are these acceptable temps for daily use?

Thanks in advance,

Geken

Conumdrum

Close the back off, cut a hole in the back and get a 240+ mm 12VDC fan to pull air out the back of the E-center? Make a pigtail off the PSU so you can remove the HTPC and leave the fan. So the ambient air around the case is cooler.

Your temps are just within okay specs.

Another thought.... It is kinda hidden back there? Any reason you can't just leave the case cover off? The front will still look good.

Last edited:
OP