• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

How come no one uses a cd-rom when water cooling? and rads...

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

TransformedBG

I have been looking long and hard for anyone that uses a CD-Rom on a PC that is water cooled. I get that you can install almost everything VIA usb. But i rip music, movies, etc and need at least one. I mean i guess one solution would be to use an external CD rom, but i like the idea of having one internal. Then i was thiking well why not use a SFF (small form factor) CD/DVD rom and kind of do a custom front to the pc, but then im not a professional modder so i dont know if actually do that. Im just getting in to water cooling im going to give it a go. So im looking for a good case to start with, and using the rule of thumb of at least a 240mm rad for each part i want to OC (CPU, GPU) that would be about 1 480... granted i was thinking well that could just be min and i dont know how much overhead that would give me.. I mean the way i see it i could get a case that i could run 2 480s and have over kill, but i guess more wouldnt hurt? not sure...

ssjwizard

Has slightly less legible writing than Thideras
I have a BD drive in my liquid cooled system.

attachment.php

Case choice and careful planning are important for a good LC build.

Theres no such thing as too much radiator space, but there is a point where it does become kind of silly to add more.

Blaylock

"That Backfired" Senior Member
:rofl:

Let me clairify, the BlueRay is current, I'm old school. My first computer had a cassette tape to load programs.
:salute:

caddi daddi

Godzilla to ant hills
I still install cd/dvd drives in a lot of my water cooled rigs but, I have to admit that they just add more to the wiring rats nest.

OP
TransformedBG

TransformedBG