• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

How do you know if your on die temp reader is dying?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

RainMaQer

3D God
Joined
Nov 20, 2001
Location
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Just like the title says... what "idealy" would happen? What could cause this?

I ran my 800e at 533 (66 FSB) for 2 days at 2.00 vcore. Now my idle temps seem almost normal... but my full load temp bounces around and gets as high as 60C!!! I don't know if this is right or not... intel temp spec is 80 C so I'm still kinda in spec :D But this is with a pep66... and with the retail hsf I get about 5 C higher. Please note that these temps are with the processor running COMPLETELY at DEFAULT: 800 MHz- 1.70 Vcore:
 

Yodums

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2001
Location
Ottawa, Canada
Here are some things that can be wrong with this picture:

Heatsink is not making 100% contact
Fan is not doing its job
The heatsink is wobbling and creating vibrations
Internal Diode is wrong

When you took off your HSF did you make sure, your heatsink had an imprint of all the AS?

Made sure you screwed your fan on tight?

It doesn't seem right.. at all.
 

Tweak

Registered
Joined
Mar 24, 2001
The internal Diodes are wrong all the time. Use something a little more acurate, like a radio shack temperature probe in the heatsink. My brothers diode tells him that he is running 130F all the time.
 
OP
RainMaQer

RainMaQer

3D God
Joined
Nov 20, 2001
Location
Fort Wayne, Indiana
No matter what I use it does this... pep66 or retail hsf. Checked rechecked and checked the seating over and over again. Even with the retail hsf it shouldn't be running that hot. I think something is wrong with the diode...not sure... Silversinksam suggested I buy a digidoc... but money is a serious issue right now. Oh well... just not going to be putting this puppy under full load for a while :(
 

CrystalMethod

Senior Band Wagon Jumper
Joined
Jun 9, 2001
Location
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
The ASUS probe is reading wrong. I have the same problem with my celly 800. I'm 99% sure it has something to do with the slot adapter. I've got an MSI 6905 Master, and I get reported temps as high 72°C with the same heatsink. Even MBM gives me the same thing. The thing idles just fine, it's just when I load the CPU it sky rockets. Just for "fun", I decided to REALLY load the CPU and ran SETI, Prime95, and 3Dmark2K1 all at the same time. It looped for over 12 hours, no blue screen, no artifacts, no instability what so ever. If I put my celly 400 on (which is an actual slot1), I get no unusual spikes in temps like I do when I run the other CPU's through the slot adapter. I really need to get a digital-doc, or compunurse, that way I can find out for sure what I'm realy running at.
 
OP
RainMaQer

RainMaQer

3D God
Joined
Nov 20, 2001
Location
Fort Wayne, Indiana
CrystalMethod said:
The ASUS probe is reading wrong. I have the same problem with my celly 800. I'm 99% sure it has something to do with the slot adapter. I've got an MSI 6905 Master, and I get reported temps as high 72°C with the same heatsink. Even MBM gives me the same thing. The thing idles just fine, it's just when I load the CPU it sky rockets. Just for "fun", I decided to REALLY load the CPU and ran SETI, Prime95, and 3Dmark2K1 all at the same time. It looped for over 12 hours, no blue screen, no artifacts, no instability what so ever. If I put my celly 400 on (which is an actual slot1), I get no unusual spikes in temps like I do when I run the other CPU's through the slot adapter. I really need to get a digital-doc, or compunurse, that way I can find out for sure what I'm realy running at.

I found an article on the front page about it... turns out that the P3V4X has problems with slotkets and the temp. interpretation. I did a search on google and found this article describing almost exactly what is happening to me. So if you have an Asus P3V4X and are using a slotket... you might have wierd temps, this article will enlighten you as to your potential problem. I think the best thing to do would be to try a different slotket or if a friend has a socket 370 mobo... see if you can try your processor out on that mobo :D
 

bartron

Registered
Joined
Mar 7, 2002
On those same lines, what is the Max "Safe" Temperature you would want to see under Max Load? I was wondering because although I have it turned off, my MB (ST6) alarm is set by default to beep a warning at 75*C
 
OP
RainMaQer

RainMaQer

3D God
Joined
Nov 20, 2001
Location
Fort Wayne, Indiana
I think that would depend on which intel chip you have... for a P3... thermal spec on most of them is around 75-80 C... Bring in other factors... ~50 C... then bring in personal preference, 35-40 C.

Not sure on P4's... but I do know they run about 5-10 C higher than a P3.
 
OP
RainMaQer

RainMaQer

3D God
Joined
Nov 20, 2001
Location
Fort Wayne, Indiana
bartron said:
I should have mentioned that I had a 1.0a, sorry about that

Not too sure... but I believe the celly follows along the same lines as the P3's... maybe give or take 3-4 C. Could be wrong though :D
 

CrystalMethod

Senior Band Wagon Jumper
Joined
Jun 9, 2001
Location
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Hehehe, you did a google search only to find the answer was on this site all the time...
... sorry, it's late, I'm tired, bit giddy...
I figured it was the Slot adapter throwing the readings off. WhenI put it on my 370 socket MB witht he same cooler, it reads just fine. Put it on the P3V4X, and it goes all screwy. Oh well, Digital-doc, or Compu-nurse for me. That should clear things up a bit.