• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

How good is this?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

87dtna

I know an all in one unit won't be as good, but is this better than most air coolers?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835233011

I'd like opinions whether I should go with this or a V8 cooler.

I'm not too worried about longevity, as long as it lasts atleast a year I'd be happy. It's cheap enough. But right now I have a Cooler Master GeminII and temps top out around 60c with my CPU as a quad at 3.8ghz. I wanted to try to hit 4.0 ghz, and I think whats holding me back is the heat because just idling it will be around mid to upper 40's with the GeminII because it requires 1.50 Vcore to be 100% stable. 3.9ghz is stable with 1.575 Vcore, but temps nearly reach 70c in 3 minutes with Prime95 going.

I'm not sure a V8 or that contraption will do much for you over the Gemini. The linked "system" won't even touch a quality air cooler. You may get a few degrees but nothing to call home about. I'd recommend a TRUE or Megahalems or even Noctua's recent offerings. Sunbeam Core Contact coolers are also decent from what I've seen.

TRUE: $55.95. Two dollars more than the one you linked to and will run circles around it (as well as the other two). I think it comes with AM2 brackets, but call or email Sidewinders before ordering to be sure.

I don't know for a fact that the V8 is better than the all-in-one, but I do know I'd not risk having liquid of any kind in my system without a good reason. That cooler is not a good reason, guaranteed.

Xigmatek S1283 for one of the best bang for the buck coolers..

I was looking at that one, but it doesn't have a solid copper block at the bottom which I don't like.