• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

How long does it take you to do 1 DU?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Quattro

Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2003
How long does it you on average to do one data unit.
my CPU time is over 4 hours now and I haven't even done one yet, is this normal?
 

rogerdugans

Linux challenged Senior, not that it stops me...
Joined
Dec 28, 2001
Location
Corner of No and Where
No.

A couple of things to start off with:
Are you using the command-line client?

The fancy screensaver is pretty to look at but it eats up a lot of cycles rendering the graphics; clc is much faster and used by most of us.

Power management can cause issues too: I keep power management set to Always On except of my monitor.

Using your computer for other tasks will also slow down processing of work units, gaming and heavy use-tasks will slow it down more or even stop the client from processing.

The other possibilities are:
work units vary- how much has been completed?
Occasionally a wu will become corrupt and stall.
 

SkyHook

Senior Village Idiot
Joined
Jan 24, 2002
Location
York, Pennsylvania
$.02 More

With the equipment you have listed in you sig, you should be seeing WU times in the 3:45 to 4:15 range using the CLC(command-line client). Even better with some OCing. Best guesses are you are either running the Screensaver(very much slower), or you have a lot of stuff going on in the background(you may not even be aware of it), or you have some power saving stuff like letting the harddrives go to sleep that can jack up your times.

The more info we have to work with the more helpful we can be.

SkyHook
 

PAWO

Member
Joined
Jul 1, 2003
Location
Grand Rapids, MI
My Rig (in sig) does a WU in about 6 hours and 20 mins, our server (also in sig) can do a WU in around 2 hours and 35 mins, my XP1900+ box = 3 hours 53 mins, XP2000+ box = 3 hours 39 mins, TBird 1.33 Box = 5 hours 20 mins

I usually submit about 25-30 WU's a day.....currently over 12,200 submitted total.
 

pyro6988

New Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2004
Location
PA
I am averaging a WU completed every 2 hours on a shuttle XPC with a 2.6C overclocked to 3.2Ghz with 1000MHz FSB.
 

pyro6988

New Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2004
Location
PA
To be more percise.....the average for 21 complete WU is 2 hr 8 min . SetiSpy calculates 2 hr 16 min per work unit (based on 3300MHz processor speed and 1000MHz memory speed). All work units do not require the same amount of processing time. Some of my work units in the set of 21 required 1 hr 45 min while others require 2 hr 30 min, thats is was I said it is an average.

Is there anyway to use 100% of the CPU with Hyper thread P4? Windows is showing two processors graphs in the task manager, like a dual processor system. SETI only uses roughly 50% of the processor. Is this just nonsense, or could I run a second client?
 

Burning Phoenix

Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2001
Location
Schenectady NY
Is your SETI_Driver setup with the Maximum Processes set to 2 like the following pic:

setiprocess.jpg
 

pyro6988

New Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2004
Location
PA
I actually use SetiHide, but there is a setting to change the number of processors to be used. I have it set to one. Should it be set to 2 even though I only have one processor?
 

pyro6988

New Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2004
Location
PA
I Changed the number of processors in SetiHide hide to 2.... no effect. Then I downloaded SetiDriver and set the number of processes to 2. This increased my CPU usage to 100%. Thank You