• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

How much do the temps raise in the summer?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Garfield

I live in New Jersey on the east coast and I just started OCing in the winter. So, I have no summer experience. Maybe I'm worrying too much about it, but I guess I'm just curious. How much to temps go up when the summer roles around?

Garfield, I'm from Ga., and I'm already fighting the temps...my chip goes unstable somewhere around 40-42, and the past few days I've been skirting 38 under full load...and summer ain't even here yet! Damn, I need water cooling before this summer!

Your sig says 31C for a CPU temp now....at what room temp is that tempriture taken at ? IE is your room freezing or do you have the heat up to like 75F in your room? You can expect temps to flirt with the 100F range in the peak times of summer...but mostly be around 75-85 F Airconditiong is great for those who have it...I don't. I'm allready starting to buy parts to set up my system with a 156w peltier to run during the summer months here in NY

Garfield said:
I live in New Jersey on the east coast and I just started OCing in the winter. So, I have no summer experience. Maybe I'm worrying too much about it, but I guess I'm just curious. How much to temps go up when the summer roles around?

I had the same problem. I started in december, and my temps fine. But by summer i needed a better heatsink. I just try to keep my room temp as low as possible. Open windows at night, close windows and curtains durring the day.

If you don't have AC and you're stuck with aircooling, it's quite beneficial if you live in the basement :D I'm sure glad I do. My ambient temps are usually between 16c and they only go up about 2c in the summer. Once summer hits, I'll be able to tolerate cooler temps.