• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

How much is sata 2 m/b holding back my SSD

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

IAMMESOIAM

Registered
Joined
Mar 1, 2017
Hi all

Just fitted my first SSD (Samsung evo 250) and new to all this read write speed info etc. I realise that my Asus P5W DH is only sata 2 so holding performance back in that respect but are these performance figures shown in Samsung Magician to be expected, or is my Pentium D 940 3.20GHz a major factor???

I cloned my old h/d using the Samsung software, which was a breeze, but would it make a difference if I reinstalled a totally fresh O/S, which is awkward at the moment as I am away from home for a while and don’t have the disc with me.
 

Attachments

  • 2nd reading.jpg
    2nd reading.jpg
    169.3 KB · Views: 122

ssjwizard

Has slightly less legible writing than Thideras
Joined
Mar 12, 2002
Generally speaking running a fresh install onto an SSD is preferable due to alignment, and a few other options windows enables when you install to SSD. As for the speeds your seeing yes thats about all you can expect from a sata2 port.
 

satrow

Member
Joined
Feb 20, 2015
Location
Cymru
IOPS look quite low for SATA2, compared to my results for Plextor mSATA on SATA2 (48k, 41k) and my 850 EVO on SATA3 (63k, 57k), Sequential speeds are as expected for SATA2.

I'd suggest that the hardware is a bottleneck but I'm pretty sure I don't have any benchmarks from my old C2D/Crucial M4 rig saved to use as a comparison.

Is TRIM enabled and Active?
 
OP
I

IAMMESOIAM

Registered
Joined
Mar 1, 2017
Hi all

Thank you for your replies.

Had to look it up but yes Trim is active. :thup:
 
OP
I

IAMMESOIAM

Registered
Joined
Mar 1, 2017
I hope you didn't rely on the output from an fsutil call, that only queries the OS setting, it doesn't check whether it's active, eg. Trim can be blocked by a 'bad' driver: http://www.hdsentinel.com/faq.php#trim

I did indeed rely on a fsutil call (the web is full of pages advising you to do so)

I am downloading Hard Disk Sentinel now and will report its findings. Many thanks for the link :thup:
 
OP
I

IAMMESOIAM

Registered
Joined
Mar 1, 2017
I checked device manager and “Standard AHCI Controller” was already set.

I could find no trace of a Marvell 91xx controller as mentioned in the link??

I am pretty sure it’s a Intel® 82801G (ICH7) Ultra etc on my m/b in device manager

The free version of “Hard Disk Sentinel” is showing as a virus with Avast so I have not disabled Avast and installed as of yet :eh?:

- - - Updated - - -

Someone called "iV3" put together a list of useful tools, methods, comments, etc. on the Trim issue last year (I just discovered it when checking some of those pages advising using fsutil after your last reply), it looks pretty sound, worthy of bookmarking: http://superuser.com/questions/7489...-7-is-using-ssd-optimizations/1088697#1088697

Missed your post while I was posting....many thanks satrow I will look now :)
 
OP
I

IAMMESOIAM

Registered
Joined
Mar 1, 2017
Got a trial version of Hard Drive Sentinel loaded and it reported Trim was active

Trim report Hard Drive Sentinal.jpg
 

Evilsizer

Senior Forum Spammer
Joined
Jun 6, 2002
Im at work but ur numbers look about right sata3 ssd on sata 2. I have a muskin edo3 256gb on a x58 baord but thats the ich9r Southbridge. Thumb ryping isnt my forte so ill post more/follow up whwn i get off.
 

trents

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2008
Yes, there is a significant hit using SATA 2. I've noticed that after installing SSDs on my customers' old computers. Still a definite improvement but not as much as you generally get on a Sata 3 machine. And, yes your CPU is probably contributing to the problem as it just can't process the extra data being sent to it as fast as it comes or is capable of coming.
 

Evilsizer

Senior Forum Spammer
Joined
Jun 6, 2002
while granted im a bit late to replying, eating dinner then got side tracked. here is my thread on my muskin eco3 drives on my X58 using SATA 2 ports.
http://www.overclockers.com/forums/showthread.php/772332-Mushkin-240gb-ECO3-SSD

now if your using the ports from the onboard aka JMB363 or the Silicon Image 4723 dont, use the ones going through the ICH7 for the ssd. i dont have HD sent and never saw/heard of it till now, i dont have my x58 running atm to try HD sent. if you want something fun to look at for my old raid 0 of two ocz agilities
http://smg.photobucket.com/user/Evilsizer/media/ocforums/crystaldiskmark.jpg.html
http://smg.photobucket.com/user/Evilsizer/media/ocforums/732010cdm30.jpg.html
http://smg.photobucket.com/user/Evilsizer/media/ocforums/22010atto60gigraid.jpg.html
http://smg.photobucket.com/user/Evilsizer/media/ocforums/agility60R0HDTch.jpg.html
http://smg.photobucket.com/user/Evilsizer/media/ocforums/agility60R0HDT.jpg.html
that burst man, iwas like WOW

*edit*
now while our drives are not the same brand/controller its just ment to give you an idea on sata 2 of where your at. i need to find my Vertex EX 120gb drive and rebench it to post and i still have a working 60gig agility but doesnt have much life left last i checked (about 30% or so)
 
OP
I

IAMMESOIAM

Registered
Joined
Mar 1, 2017
Many thanks for all the replies guys very informative and helpful :thup::thup::thup:

Got a slight problem on boot but I’ll start a new thread for that :confused:
 

satrow

Member
Joined
Feb 20, 2015
Location
Cymru
Ouch, that's a significant drop. What changes have you made since the earlier test?

Check that you have the latest version of Magician and run another benchmark after you've killed all non-essential programs/services (you really don't want to run benchmarks on an SSD too frequently though).
 

trents

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2008
Have you checked to see if TRIM is enabled? What OS are you running?
 

Evilsizer

Senior Forum Spammer
Joined
Jun 6, 2002
even if trim isnt enabled the drive has built in GC and should run on its own. other causes is that the drive was using space already written to for the test, so it had to clean the space then rewrite which takes longer.
 

satrow

Member
Joined
Feb 20, 2015
Location
Cymru
Well, Trim was enabled and Active at #9 and the SSD has only had .18TB written to it with 1.45GB free space, I don't think that Read speed should have been impacted by more than a few %.

I'm more inclined to suspect that there was a fairly high level of (background?) CPU/drive activity during the latest test.
 

Evilsizer

Senior Forum Spammer
Joined
Jun 6, 2002
Well, Trim was enabled and Active at #9 and the SSD has only had .18TB written to it with 145GB free space, I don't think that Read speed should have been impacted by more than a few %.

I'm more inclined to suspect that there was a fairly high level of (background?) CPU/drive activity during the latest test.

fixed