• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

How much of a difference will I notice in RAID 0?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

kskwerl

I have (1) 60GB OCZ Agility 2 right now with my OS on it, I'm going to be getting my RAID card and 2 more OCZ Agility 2's and I plan on putting them all into a hardware RAID 0. How much of a difference will I notice myself and how much of a difference do you think I'll get on the read/write speeds when I run a bench mark.

Also I'm pretty new at setting of RAIDs and I've never setup a hardware RAID before ever. So any tips will help. Things like, do I need to turn on AHCI in the BIOS or no since its an actually RAID card I'm hooking the disc up too.

for the money why don't you just get 2 bigger HDD instead of 2 small SSD and raid those as your storage and keep your single SSD as your OS drive? you can DL games onto SSD to keep performance up and use the HDD for music videos and such that you don't need as much performance for

for the money why don't you just get 2 bigger HDD instead of 2 small SSD and raid those as your storage and keep your single SSD as your OS drive? you can DL games onto SSD to keep performance up and use the HDD for music videos and such that you don't need as much performance for

Well I got like 4 TB of other WD drives where I keep all my movies and music, I really don't play that many games..I like to stick to one game at a time, like right now I like to play Heroes of Newerth and I just got SC2 so like those are the only 2 I can think of right now that I would put on this RAID 0 setup.

benchmarks will go faster, but you cant play benchmarks so who cares.