• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

How much preformance increase from:....?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

ZightZar

Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2002
Location
Texas
Ok, so now I have a 1.8a P4, Mushkin 512mb pc3200, ASRock P4VT8 (made by asus), 80gig WD 7200rpm 2mb cache, Tt Xaser Ed. Spark7+, Fortron 530, and an Albatron 5900epv. I couldn't overclock (the cpu) worth a **** with this current setup (heat issues and whatnot... [yeah i tried different cooling solutions and none seemed to work]), so I bought from newegg a Barton 3000+ 400fsb, and an ASRock K7S8XE (yeah this mobo seemed REALLY great for the price [$46 btw], and when i'm strapped for cash atm, it seemed a REAL good deal... If i need something better, i can always buy a better mobo if this one doesn't work out.)

Ok, so how much preformance increase do yall think i'll really see? Since i couldn't oc my 1.8a, the ram was downclocking itself to pc2100 (since it fsb is only 100mhz), and the 3000+ is clocked at 2.1 and since it has 200mhz fsb it will finally let me take advantage of my pc3200... So will i notice any difference?
 

R0CK3TM4NN

Member
Joined
Jul 12, 2002
Location
Columbus, OH - GO BUCKS!
I'm sure you will notice a large difference. I'm not sure how that ASRock mobo will perform because I haven't read anything on it yet, but just the extra GHz from the new processor and the increased memory bandwidth would allow you to see a big difference in performance. What kind of cooling will you be using on the barton?
 

attack

Member
Joined
May 23, 2002
hmm, well I'd say in games and apps that use a CPU you'll definetly notice, but if you just email, surf the web, and stuff like that, then I don't think so. Also you can still OC that 3000+, I'm not sure what people are getting with them but it might be pretty decent of a clock.
Anything is an upgrade from a 100mhz FSB....odd about those 1.8a's, I thought they were killer OC'ers, must be a dud chip.
 
OP
Z

ZightZar

Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2002
Location
Texas
Well, i'll be taking my water cooling setup off my 2.8e render-rig because all i do on that is render, and there is no real need to watercool it since it is not oc'ed... Uses a via1300 pump, t-line bleed, 2x black ice micro(yeah its 80mm, i have a small case :/), and ordered a whitewater for socket a (from dtek), some tygon tubing (only have about 3 feet left, that better be enough :|), and waterwetter been good to me, so i guess ill pick up another bottle for it :)

And yeah i play games alot, so any increase in preformance would be great...
 

johan851

Insatiably Malcontent, Senior Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2002
Location
Seattle, WA
I think you'll see a pretty good performance increase as well, and it should overclock well with that watercooling as long as the motherboard is up to it.

A couple things, a little off topic for this section:
1. Make sure you get an aluminum top for the WhiteWater. My poly topped cracked and it's a pain in the butt...I'm lucky nothing was damaged.
2. I'd strongly recommend using something like orange antifreeze instead of WaterWetter - it's much healthier for your system.
 

Yuriman

Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2002
Location
The OCFORUMS
I personaly would have gone with a mobile, and a biostar board, but thats just me hehe.

In games it will be a large difference, and your system may feel a bit more responsive. Ohh, and with that Black Ice Micro, you probably wouldnt be any better off than with a large heatsink. The reason we watercool is so we can get the heat away from that spot, and so we can have much more surface area to cool, IE radiator.
 
OP
Z

ZightZar

Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2002
Location
Texas
Yeah I have two BIM's, each with two fans on it... Yeah I liked the way the aluminum top for the WW looked so i got that instead of the see through top (although the p4 WW i had, had a poly top, and nothing Ill ever came of it).

When you say that orange AF is healthier, what did you mean? All waterwetter did was stain the tubes blue a little bit, but other than that little 'problem' (i didn't really see it as one...) waterwetter worked fine for me :/

And the case I have for this rig is a Antec Lanboy, so thats the reason I'm using two BIM's instead of BIX's lol. Glad to hear that my system should feel more responsive, thats great news :)

Anything else I should know? I'm wondering what kind of oc ill get with my setup... Havent really heard much too much about the 400fsb 3000+'s though :/
 

johan851

Insatiably Malcontent, Senior Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2002
Location
Seattle, WA
I'm pretty sure that antifreeze has better corrosion protection than WaterWetter. If it works fine and you like it, then stick with it. I've just heard of a ton of people who have had problems with it.