• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

How much RAM is ideal for OC'ing? And are these $500+ sticks worth it?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

FlashRZ

Registered
Hi all, I'm new to benching and have heard that more RAM does not equal better results in many situations. I have decided to make to EVGA X299 Dark (https://goo.gl/nwoR8i) my mobo of choice for all my OC'ing initially (At least on paper. It arrives today and if it's shyte then I'll have to go back to the drawing board...) The site for this board claims "4 DIMM Quad Channel DDR4 up to 64GB 3600MHz+ Skylake-X, and 32GB 4133MHz+ Kaby Lake-X" so I can run up to 64 GB with the two chips I'll be using (Intel Core i7-7820X to learn on and an Intel Intel Core i9-7980XE to compete with, both are technically considered Skylake if I'm not mistaken)

In my normal computing life, I would have been looking for 64 GB of RAM and maybe sacrifice a little performance to get those 16gb sticks to fit in the 4 slots. But as I said earlier, if I understand correctly, that's actually not necessarily the smartest thing when it comes to benching. Can someone please let me know, what is the right amount of RAM for benching, or if it's not a static figure, what method is used to decide what's the best amount for maximum benching performance?

Also, would it be wiser to go with one of these DDR4's with a super high memory clock speed, such as the CORSAIR Vengeance LPX 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 4600 (https://goo.gl/3yLMrt) to try to overclock and maybe get two kits of them? Or would that be overkill/underkill and I should go with less or more, respectively.

Thank you so much, as always. I really appreciate your guys' help. :)

Last edited: