• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

How to improve laptop cooling?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Statick

I've got a Mitac 8355 in at the moment, which is overheating badly.
I can't quote any figures as there is no temperature sensor inside it, but it powers itself off when it gets hot - and believe me it gets hot, i can't even touch the heatsink for more than an instant when its well heated.

the heatsink in question can be seen here > http://www.overclockers.com/tips1192/index02.asp

i've already replaced the crappy TIM joint with AS5 which has helped, but not enough.

i've never lapped a heatsink and from what i've read, i've as much chance screwing it up as i have improving it, if i've never done it before - and the heatsink isn't easliy replaced like a stock tower one. furthermore, there are 4 feet around the copper base which actually stand out further than the base itself, which would make lapping an absolute pig. (see this page > http://www.overclockers.com/tips1192/index06.asp)

i'm also wondering that, since the heatsink itself feels so hot, that perhaps the TIM joint is adequate, but the airflow is not - yet the fan is as far as i can tell, in perfect working order...

any suggestions would be great, i'm running out of ideas and out of time...

OP
S

Statick

actually i think i just solved it

those external coolers aren't really an option - i run my own business repairing PCs, and this particular laptop has been causing me a headache over the last couple of days. i can't return a customer's un-fixed laptop saying 'u need to use one of these' and charge them for it !!