• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

How to install & run 3Dmark99 Max

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

ShrimpBrime

~MadHatDeLidder~
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Hello and welcome to my little tutorial.
Going to explain in short detail how to set up and get 3DMark99 working on your W10 install.

Super simple, great for team points. (Bot does not give personal boints only team)

DL 3DMark99 max and get the user name and key from here.
https://benchmarks.ul.com/legacy-benchmarks

Unzip the folder and right click the exe installer.
Right Click properties then compatibility.
Tick run in compatibility for W98.
Tick run as administrator.
Close the box and install the benchmark.

Once you've installed the benchmark
Go to C: Program Files (X86) and again repeat the above.
Right click, properties, compatibility.
Tick compatibility for W98 and Admin. close and run.

Be sure to use your usual tweaks on legacy benches ;)

GLHF!
 
Last edited:

dejo

Senior Moment Senior Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2001
been many years since I ran that bench. A long time for 3d2000 as well.
Kinda funny that you can still go to madonion.com to get to your results for the new benches, or could not long ago anyway. Havent checked that in a year or so
 
OP
ShrimpBrime

ShrimpBrime

~MadHatDeLidder~
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
I don't think you can visit madonion anymore, it just goes to 3dmark.com instead.
 
OP
ShrimpBrime

ShrimpBrime

~MadHatDeLidder~
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Here is an example screen shot.
Athlon 220ge 3.8ghz OC and Vega 3 no OC.
Single stick 8gb of Corsair LED 3000mhz at 2667mhz.
Nothing special, just an example :)
 

Attachments

  • Vega 3 3DMark99 Max II.png
    Vega 3 3DMark99 Max II.png
    558.7 KB · Views: 195

JLK03F150

What have I done! Member
Joined
May 17, 2005
Location
Georgia
Speaking of nothing special and not overclocked. :rofl:
i5 3330S, Gigabyte GA-H77TN, 2x4GB DDR3 PC1600 SoDimm, Intel HD Graphics
2.3 points for the team though. :)

3DM99_JLK.png
 
Last edited:
OP
ShrimpBrime

ShrimpBrime

~MadHatDeLidder~
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Easy points. I think you need to open the results browser for details, but I'd have to double check the rules to be sure.
Nice run :)

Edit. Also only need to run the 1st 2 game benchmarks to get a score.
 
OP
ShrimpBrime

ShrimpBrime

~MadHatDeLidder~
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Hey that's pretty good Scotty! Was hoping the question was more related to the bench itself over the OS. Cause I havent tried PCMark on W10.

I do know that the bench favors ATI/AMD cards.
 

MaddMutt

Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2015
I was looking at getting them to work under Win10. I know I will take a big hit but I may still get some points :)
 
OP
ShrimpBrime

ShrimpBrime

~MadHatDeLidder~
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
I was looking at getting them to work under Win10. I know I will take a big hit but I may still get some points :)

No sir, that one I'm not sure about. It's a pain in the butt to install and run on W7, so I imagine W10 would be no different. So whatever method worked for W7 may work for W10 is what I'm saying.