• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

How to insulate mobo for ss phase unit?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

funsoul

Hiya Folks

OK...want to get going with the phase unit but want to be extra careful as this is my first time going cold. Think I've got it but before doing anything wanted to ask here.

Have read the stickies and guides that are out there and have received guidance from the seller of the phase unit. His preference is the artist eraser method (which I know some of you aren't enamored with).

Here are excerpts from the seller's 'instructions' along with my questions/comments:

"I'll write up more tomorrow for you, but I always use artist eraser, it's maleable rubber and it's easy to put on and to take off. The eraser is to waterproof the board, which neither frost king or shop towels will do. Some people use nail polish or vaseline but neither are easy to remove like eraser. I think the 2 cubes I sent you should be enough depending on what board you're using. With LN2 you always make a couple of "gaskets" out of shop towel to absorb any moisture when the pot starts thawing, but it's not really necessary with an SS. You can if you want but if you seal up the board good enough you're probably okay without, unless you live in the tropics with very high humidity."

I'm thinking of painting the front/back of the motherboard (around the socket and extending to just beyond the mounting holes) in clear nail polish. Some prefer Liquid Electrical Tape...would that be better than the nail polish?