• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

How to plan long term active data storage on a budget?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

smoth

I am currently a college student on a tight budget, but I am concerned that my current data storage solution may be setting myself up for a nightmare in years to come. I currently have a copy of all critical data (documents, pictures) at my parents house, on my school's network (documents only), and on 3 hard drives (laptop, internal, external), and on dvd, so I am not concerned about loosing critical files. My main concern is with my media collection (movies, music). Over the years it has grown to approximately 1.8TB, currently on 2 1TB hdds each with approximately 900GB and I still have stacks of movies and CDs lying around waiting to make it into my library. Since I often come up with reasons to move large numbers of files around, that is as full as I would like to go. Obviously I need more space, but I am starting to question whether this is a good approach. The easiest solution would be to go grab another drive and throw it in and start filling, but I am starting to realize the amount of time I have spent creating my digital libraries. Between ripping, encoding, deleting unwanted parts, tagging, organizing, etc I have probably invested well over 1,000 hours. Now, during high school, this was no big deal, as I did not have a job and had virtually no school work, now I am working 2 jobs, and taking 19 credits per semester, and competing on my schools ski team so if something were to happen, I would be devastated to be without my source of relaxation and would have no way of replacing the files (I keep my discs at home as I have nowhere to keep them in my dorm).