• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

how's my system? :)

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

iambum

New Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2002
Thermaltake SMART FAN
$12.00

Thermalright SK-7
$29.00

AMD ATHLON XP 2400/ 266 FSB
$183.00

CORSAIR MEMORY 512MB PC2700 VALUE SELECT. DDR RAM
184-Pin, CAS2.5-Unbuffered 64x64.
$172.00

Epox EP-8K9A2
Specifications:
CPU Supported: AMD Athlon/Athlon XP/Duron
Chipset: Apollo KT400 Chipset
FSB: 266MHz
IDE: 2x E/IDE Ultra DMA/133
RAM: 4x DDR SDRAM PC2700, 4GB Max
Slots: 1x AGP(8x), 6x PCI
Ports: 2x PS/2 Mouse/Keyboard, 2x Serial, 4x USB
Onboard Audio: Realtek ALC650 6-channel full-duplex integrated sound
$98.00

Maxtor 80GB 7200RPM Hard Drive
DiamondMax Plus 9
Specifications:
Size: 80 Gigabytes
Interface: IDE ULTRA ATA133
Seek time: <8ms

How's this setup?

I'm sort of a beginner. Suggestions would be appreciated... as well as places to get lower prices. :) (Yea, I checked pricewatch and browsed a lot)
 

Namagomi

Disabled
Joined
Mar 20, 2001
Location
Dallas, Texas and Tulsa, Oklahoma
I'd go with a larger heatsink, such as a SK-7+ or SLK-800. You can't get too cool. Also, some better ram would improve things greatly. Some Corsair XMS3200 (at least 512mb) would be ideal.

Newegg.com is a local favorite vendor around here, can't go wrong with them.
 

toastedzergling

Member
Joined
May 25, 2002
KT400 chipset has received a lot of bashing, it can be slower than KT333, 1/6 PCI divider not working, etc. So I suggest you get a nforce2 board (need two sticks of DDR RAM) or a KT333 board if you want to save a few bucks.
 

macklin01

Computational Oncologist / Biomathematician / Mode
Joined
Apr 3, 2002
Location
Bloomington, IN
You might want to check out the WD special edition drives. They're another fast drive out there, and they have an 8MB cache. Also, ATA133 is overrated and mostly PR. Sustained transfer rates are rarely over 35 MB/s on an IDE drive, and burst rates don't generally get much higher than 100 MB/s.

Overall, looks like a nice system! -- Paul
 

bum

Registered
Joined
Nov 19, 2002
Alright!

Cool, thanks for the help!

Check it out...

Namagomi... I switched to the SLK-800 and how's this memory stick?:

CORSAIR MEMORY XMS Extreme Memory Speed Series 512MB 64MX64 PC-3200 CMX512-3200 512MB PC3200 DDR RAM - OEM 64x64 184-Pin, CAS2.5 -Unbuffered With Heat Spreader
$189.00

It's only $17 more. But you said XMS3200... this says PC3200 but XMS series. I'm thinkin' it's the same thing but I'm no memory expert.

toastedzergling... I switched the KT400 to the KT333 like you suggested...

Epox EP-8K5A2 Mobo
Chipset:VIA Apollo KT333 AGPset
FSB:200/266MHz
RAM:3x DDR-SDRAM Slots for PC2700 Max 3GB
IDE:UltraDMA-133 EIDE (Up to 4 IDE devices)
Slots:5 (32-bit) PCI, 1 AGP.supports 1x, 2x and 4x
Ports:1xFDD,2xCOM,1xLPT,and Audio ports USB2.0
Onboard Audio: Realtek 201A more info>
$86.00

And macklin01... I did look at those WD SE drives and found this one to be only $7 more on sale...

WD WESTERN DIGITAL "SPECIAL EDITION" 80GB 7200RPM EIDE
Specifications:
Size: 80 Gigabytes
Interface: IDE ULTRA ATA100
Seek time: 8.9ms
RPM:7200
Cache 8MB
OEM(Drive alone) 3 Year Manufacturer Warranty --* Works With PC & Mac *-- more info>
$116.00

OH yea... I forgot to mention on my first post about my vid card...

LEADTEK Geforce4 TI4400 128M TV/DVI AGP Video Card Retail
Specifications:
Chipset: Nvidia Geforce4 Ti-4400
Memory: 128MB DDR
8.8 GB/sec Memory Bandwidth
125 million vertices/sec Peak Vertex Processing Rate
1.12 trillion operations/sec
Default clock speed 275/550 Mhz core/memory Max Res: up to 2048x1536
Ports: DB-15 VGA+ Svideo Out + DVI
Retail box (comes with 2 Full Version Retail Games, Winfast DVD, Cult3D, Colorific,3Deep True Internet Color and cables
Winfast A250 TD 3 Years manufacture Warranty.
$187.99

Now how reliable is this leadtek company? Do you suggest anything else?

Thanks much.

AH, one more thing!

I mentioned to my dad about Logitech's cordless optical mouse... he claims his friend had it and doesn't use it anymore but can't remember why. Do you guys know a thing or two about this mouse? It seems pretty cool. I hate cords. :X

LAST THING LOL

This is sort of significant...

Processors
AMD ATHLON XP 2400 /266 FSB PROCESSOR
$183.00

That's the processor I have on my list. While browsing to put it in my shopping cart, I saw this...

AMD Athlon 1600+/266 FSB XP Processor

Now get this... $58!!!!

That's 1.9 GHz vs. 1.4 GHz with a whopping $125 savings!

How would the 1600 go with all my other gear?
 
Last edited:

Namagomi

Disabled
Joined
Mar 20, 2001
Location
Dallas, Texas and Tulsa, Oklahoma
Re: Alright!

bum said:
Cool, thanks for the help!

Check it out...

Namagomi... I switched to the SLK-800 and how's this memory stick?:

CORSAIR MEMORY XMS Extreme Memory Speed Series 512MB 64MX64 PC-3200 CMX512-3200 512MB PC3200 DDR RAM - OEM 64x64 184-Pin, CAS2.5 -Unbuffered With Heat Spreader
$189.00

It's only $17 more. But you said XMS3200... this says PC3200 but XMS series. I'm thinkin' it's the same thing but I'm no memory expert.

Good job with the SLK-800. Ya never can get a good enough heatsink.

And yeah, that's the same memory, sorry for the confusion. You're gonna want to go for the CAS2 memory, however. This is the stuff I run (check the sig) and I love it. It's 19 bucks more, but very much worth it for the more aggressive timings.

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduct.asp?description=20-145-416
 

bum

Registered
Joined
Nov 19, 2002
Ah

Under the specs for my mobo it says...

RAM:3x DDR-SDRAM Slots for PC2700 Max 3GB

Can I still jam a PC3500 in there?
 

gingo

Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2002
I like my SK-7 ;)

You might wanna go with the EP-8K5A2+ instead of the "non +" version. It has RAID ports incase you ever wanna add extra HDD's. And also onboard LAN which works great.
 

bum

Registered
Joined
Nov 19, 2002
Well

I'm not that hardcore. 80GB is PLENTY for me. And I have an extra Fast Ethernet card. But TY for the tip.

The below two things are the only things left.

This is sort of significant...

Processors
AMD ATHLON XP 2400 /266 FSB PROCESSOR
$183.00

That's the processor I have on my list. While browsing to put it in my shopping cart, I saw this...

AMD Athlon 1600+/266 FSB XP Processor

Now get this... $58!!!!

That's 1.9 GHz vs. 1.4 GHz with a whopping $125 savings!

How would the 1600 go with all my other gear?

And...

Under the specs for my mobo it says...

RAM:3x DDR-SDRAM Slots for PC2700 Max 3GB

Can I still jam a PC3500 in there?
 

Namagomi

Disabled
Joined
Mar 20, 2001
Location
Dallas, Texas and Tulsa, Oklahoma
if you can afford it, go for the 2400. It's a different core, and after using my brothers 1600 at stock speeds, I can tell you the 2400 is noticibly faster.

and yes, PC3500 would be compatable. my mobo can only support up to 2700, but I got the 3200 so I could clock higher and use faster settings.
 

john240sx

Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2002
Location
Sterling IL
Re: Alright!

bum said:
AH, one more thing!

I mentioned to my dad about Logitech's cordless optical mouse... he claims his friend had it and doesn't use it anymore but can't remember why. Do you guys know a thing or two about this mouse? It seems pretty cool. I hate cords. :X


i have that mouse. my only complaint is that it goes through a set of batteries every 6-7 days. i would suggest getting the version that has the rechargable battery with the stand.

good luck with your system :)
 

David

Forums Super Moderator
Joined
Feb 20, 2001
If you have the extra cash go for the 2400+. But, a good stepping AXP1600+ will often reach 1.6 to 1.8GHz. And at 1/3 the price, the extra 100MHz may not matter.

The 2400+ uses the new Tbrd 'B' core which may mean it will overcluck further and faster than an AGOIA or AROIA 1600+. But because they are newer, you are taking a chance: you will get the newer, not necessaruily as good, steppings.

As for the RAM, PC3200 or PC2500 will work in a 2700 board. Its just that the board only officially supports PC2700, 2400, 2100 and 1600. But if you are overclocking, you will need good RAM to help reach the higher FSB ranges (170MHz+).

David
 

Karl04

Member
Joined
Aug 1, 2002
Location
Suffolk, VA, USA
Leadtek is like the cadillac of graphic cards. hehe, it has those two sort of huge type fans and that metal thing that covers the heatsinks and the core. so yes its a realible company, that the software probably comes with an overclocking utility like the Gainward cards do.

But i've never had a vid card from Leadtek, wish i did.
But then again, the only vid card manufactor i dealt with was Gainward and their Golden sample cards. which are amazing overclocking cards and the manufactor supports it, well sort off

Karl
 

Namagomi

Disabled
Joined
Mar 20, 2001
Location
Dallas, Texas and Tulsa, Oklahoma
Karl04 said:
Leadtek is like the cadillac of graphic cards.

I'd have to agree with you there. Leadtek does make some very ugly cards :D

Anyways, I think the real "Cadillac" of video cards would have to be Gainward. I've bought 4 of their cards, and I've been extatic with everyone.