• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

I am a newb and I need help overclocking

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

NebiekinG

Registered
Hello,
I have a Xaser III with an Asus p4g8x-deluxe with a p4 3.06 on a 533 bus. I have tried changing the bios settings to get this box over clocked, but when I set it to even 166fbs instead of 133 the system hangs.

Any ideas Are wellcome
Please help!

that is a big jump you are try to to.
take smaller baby steps... and this is expecally true if you are new to ther overclocking world.

here is a quick idea of what to do..... need more details ask away

And a great thing about new boards like yours is you can lock the PCI bus. So no need to worry about it running out of spec. That should be the 1st thing you do.

Next we dont want out memory to be a bottle neck so set your RAM to the slowest timings ( you will speed that up later ).

then up your FSB by 5. Does the system post? If yes great. up the FSB by 5 again untill again. Do this untill you no longer post and go back to the last FSB you posted at... see if you can load windows and such... hopefully you can, and now you have a general idea of what the CPU/RAM can do.

And with this general idea of what it can do you now have a starting point for your system.

Also what kinf of RAM do you have? as if you dont have fast enough RAM or RAM ratted for 166FSB that could very well be why you dont post at 166FSB

Hmmm

Well, I got 512 of PC3200 200/400 so the ram shouldn't hold me back, right now I am oc at save voltage, i just change the fbs to 150. I was wondering what als is there to do so i can raise it some more? I did not touch anyother settings because I have no idea what they mean.

THxx