• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

I broke 9k muahahahahahahahahahahah!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Gromet

Registered
Joined
Feb 28, 2002
OK, Judging by your 3DMark link, you and I seem to have the exact same system. Dell Dimension 8200, 2.0Ghz, Gig of Ram, GForce 3 DDR, YES?

If So, how the hell are you getting those speeds, PLEASE let me know and give me some help. I am running the Detonator Drivers (Not sure which version at this point, Powerstrip Overclocking to 240/500 (Can't get any higher without locking up)

Can you please give me some advice?
I was trying to get into the 8000 area, but 9000 thats AWESOME!

Please help me out.
 

Silver

Senior Citizen (aka old fart)
Joined
Nov 24, 2001
Location
Dallas, Georgia
Dissolved said:
http://gamershq.madonion.com/compare2k1.shtml?2883880 :D
after about 14 trys, and changing settings and voltages and stuff, i broke 9k :)

One point. One, why did you not complete the tests. Seems rather biased as the second half you may not have done as well. We are after all talking about half of the tests you did not run. I'll bet that many could bump their scores by running only the best half. Sorry...:eh?:
 

TheWIZ:Part2

Registered
Joined
Feb 13, 2002
Location
Taxachusetts
There is also a good bet that the benchmark couldnt finish either, so stability is also in question. But IMHO that score is NULL! Need to complete the whole test and report back with a score. But just to let you know, I also run a P4 1.6A processor on a SiS645 chipset with 768mb of DDR RAM. And I also use the 6032 drivers. At stock speeds I hit pretty much 8000 even. To be honest I bet you cant get more than 8500 with your system pushed to its limit. Maybe 1 or 2 hundred points higher, but I know thats hitting the limits.
 

{PMS}fishy

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2001
Gromet said:
OK, Judging by your 3DMark link, you and I seem to have the exact same system. Dell Dimension 8200, 2.0Ghz, Gig of Ram, GForce 3 DDR, YES?

If So, how the hell are you getting those speeds, PLEASE let me know and give me some help. I am running the Detonator Drivers (Not sure which version at this point, Powerstrip Overclocking to 240/500 (Can't get any higher without locking up)

Can you please give me some advice?
I was trying to get into the 8000 area, but 9000 thats AWESOME!

Please help me out.

Its a dell, what more needs to be said. A mother board can make a huge differnece in overall system performance. There are also different version of the Geforce3's that perform better. VOID that warranty and get a new mother baord, and start o/cing that p4, should be able to atleast squeeze 2.5 out of it.
 

{PMS}fishy

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2001
Dissolved, why did you not run the other test. I wont take that 9000 as an actuall socre untill you run all the tests. I think that I can beat you too. 8862 so far, all I need is more power.
 
OP
Dissolved

Dissolved

Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2001
Location
OC California
Well the reasons i dont complete all the tests is because i have a heating issue. here in calif it gets very hot, even late at night when i do all my testing my room is about 25~28c sometimes higher if my mom made dinner. Im right above our kitchen so my room has heated up to 83c be4, and even tho i may have water cooling, it greatly replys on room temp to be down due to the way i have it configured. im working on making it better, and im going to move within the month, so hopefullymy room will be cooler, and my mother offered to get me a room ac, whitch ill duct that air through my pc :)
Its not a Dell sorry. Its an AMD 1900+ @ 1.752ghz 1.88vcore. GF3 Ti500. Corsiar PC2400. Gigabtye 7DXR Motherboard. Enermax 430w Blue ed. PSU. Ibm 120GXP 80gig HDD. I think thats all i need to say about the system Spec's.
i use the offical 23.11's from the geforce website. i cant get the betas/leaked drivers to run at all.
ill run a Full Test when i have the time. i just wanted to break 9k. You guys here dont under how hard ive tryed to get the score i have gotten as it is. ive spent over 10hrs in the last 2 nights alone. and all i gotten was about 80~120extra pts.
So ill Do a full test when i get my cooling better, and when i can do something else to get me busy while the 22min test runs. ill keep up updated.
thanks for the interest.
 

Silver

Senior Citizen (aka old fart)
Joined
Nov 24, 2001
Location
Dallas, Georgia
Dissolved said:
Well the reasons i dont complete all the tests is because i have a heating issue. here in calif it gets very hot, even late at night when i do all my testing my room is about 25~28c sometimes higher if my mom made dinner. Im right above our kitchen so my room has heated up to 83c be4, and even tho i may have water cooling, it greatly replys on room temp to be down due to the way i have it configured. im working on making it better, and im going to move within the month, so hopefullymy room will be cooler, and my mother offered to get me a room ac, whitch ill duct that air through my pc :)
Its not a Dell sorry. Its an AMD 1900+ @ 1.752ghz 1.88vcore. GF3 Ti500. Corsiar PC2400. Gigabtye 7DXR Motherboard. Enermax 430w Blue ed. PSU. Ibm 120GXP 80gig HDD. I think thats all i need to say about the system Spec's.
i use the offical 23.11's from the geforce website. i cant get the betas/leaked drivers to run at all.
ill run a Full Test when i have the time. i just wanted to break 9k. You guys here dont under how hard ive tryed to get the score i have gotten as it is. ive spent over 10hrs in the last 2 nights alone. and all i gotten was about 80~120extra pts.
So ill Do a full test when i get my cooling better, and when i can do something else to get me busy while the 22min test runs. ill keep up updated.
thanks for the interest.

Yeah, I understand that but why would you post it if it is incomplete. Pushed someone else down at Madonion that had you beat. Now all think you are ahead and it ain't so. In fact you may not have broken 9,000 yet as all of the tests are averaged and the tests that are hardest on the xp are ahead of you and not done. That is the area where the Athlons tend to do better. The xps do very good at the first four tests truck through nature but tend to loose ground on most of the remainder.:eh?:
A suicide run is generally a run with artifacting and other signs of instability however the tests are completed.
I do wish you the best and hope you break 10g however the tests should not be posted at madonion if they are incomplete or at least as complete as the chip can do. Not fair to the others. BTW, T-bird on GF3 Ti200 is posted there and here at 9120.
 
Last edited:
OP
Dissolved

Dissolved

Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2001
Location
OC California
{PMS}fishy said:
Dissolved, why did you not run the other test. I wont take that 9000 as an actuall socre untill you run all the tests. I think that I can beat you too. 8862 so far, all I need is more power.

well you wrote this while i was typing up my story above.. but like i said.. if my cooling was better, im sure i could of gotten a stable score of 9018, but i ran only the tests needed to gain the score. i had one goal, and that was to break 9k. i wont be upgrading till the gf5, and the barton/hammer from amd. My system is good enough i think it will last me a good year and ahalf. or i may just upgrade things as they become newer.. my system is all about good looking stuff, not performance. if you saw it, im sure it would look Alot nicer then any high performance motherboards/waterblocks/etc.. i just get what i like, and what looks good. but i do have a stable score of about 8900+. i dont believe in looping 3dmark for freaking 12hrs strong like some of you guys do. thats just dumb. im always idle unless im gaming. and when im gamming i usualy only go for an hour, max of 3hrs. so if i can stay stable for 30mins then its good enough. i dont feel like frying my card just to see if i was stable or not. if you get a 3dmark score then You get a 3dmark score. i mean, im not mad or anything, but i did think up of the 3dmark team about a month ago, and i wasnt able to help ideas due some problems i was having with the forums. but its better, and i tend to make an impact here. and i will be the best ti500 on this site :) even if i have to go insane.
 
OP
Dissolved

Dissolved

Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2001
Location
OC California
Silver said:


Yeah, I understand that but why would you post it if it is incomplete. Pushed someone else down at Madonion that had you beat. Now all think you are ahead and it ain't so. In fact you may not have broken 9,000 yet as all of the tests are averaged and the tests that are hardest on the xp are ahead of you and not done. That is the area where the Athlons tend to do better. The xps do very good at the first four tests truck through nature but tend to loose ground on most of the remainder.:eh?:

well aight, its still cool this morning, ill run it now and show you guys.. bahhh i just got up.. this thing better run..
well anyways give me like 25mins, and i shall be back with some butt whipping scores :)
 

Silver

Senior Citizen (aka old fart)
Joined
Nov 24, 2001
Location
Dallas, Georgia
TwEeDeR82 said:
Well im pretty sure he can hit the 9000 with a gf3 TI-500

He pretty much has the same settings as me except i run a gf3 TI-200 and i hit the 9k.

he just need to try harder and finish all the tests

http://gamershq.madonion.com/compare2k1.shtml?2881067

Jeez, right on my butt you are. Might have to get the xp1600 back in soon.:D

For Athlons 1400 to 2000, I have one guy ahead of me to take first. Need 9375 or so to do it.
 

Silver

Senior Citizen (aka old fart)
Joined
Nov 24, 2001
Location
Dallas, Georgia
Dissolved said:


well you wrote this while i was typing up my story above.. but like i said.. if my cooling was better, im sure i could of gotten a stable score of 9018, but i ran only the tests needed to gain the score. i had one goal, and that was to break 9k. i wont be upgrading till the gf5, and the barton/hammer from amd. My system is good enough i think it will last me a good year and ahalf. or i may just upgrade things as they become newer.. my system is all about good looking stuff, not performance. if you saw it, im sure it would look Alot nicer then any high performance motherboards/waterblocks/etc.. i just get what i like, and what looks good. but i do have a stable score of about 8900+. i dont believe in looping 3dmark for freaking 12hrs strong like some of you guys do. thats just dumb. im always idle unless im gaming. and when im gamming i usualy only go for an hour, max of 3hrs. so if i can stay stable for 30mins then its good enough. i dont feel like frying my card just to see if i was stable or not. if you get a 3dmark score then You get a 3dmark score. i mean, im not mad or anything, but i did think up of the 3dmark team about a month ago, and i wasnt able to help ideas due some problems i was having with the forums. but its better, and i tend to make an impact here. and i will be the best ti500 on this site :) even if i have to go insane.

Give it three passes and it will change a good amount. In real life gaming data is stored in cache and this loads it and gives vid performance and not as much system performance. A three pass run will take 15 mins or less. Not 12 freakin hours. If it does that then it is fairly stable.
 

Silver

Senior Citizen (aka old fart)
Joined
Nov 24, 2001
Location
Dallas, Georgia
Dissolved said:


well aight, its still cool this morning, ill run it now and show you guys.. bahhh i just got up.. this thing better run..
well anyways give me like 25mins, and i shall be back with some butt whipping scores :)

Definately rooting for you.:)
 
OP
Dissolved

Dissolved

Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2001
Location
OC California
Silver said:


Jeez, right on my butt you are. Might have to get the xp1600 back in soon.:D

For Athlons 1400 to 2000, I have one guy ahead of me to take first. Need 9375 or so to do it.

yea my amd1.4 did score good marks, i though the XP would be better but theres not too much difference other then being able to gain higher clock speed. im gonna have to do a Voltage Mod. cuz 1.88v isnt gonna get me anything. my mobo with the Vcore Mod hits 2.15, so i hop thats enough juice to hit 1.9ghz. Im just too scared to solder, cuz the pins are like a mm apart, probly even smaller then that. But my mobo does have the AMD 760/761 chipset, so im getting screwed outta about 100+ pts. So i dunno why ppl keep telling me my scoring sucks. ive been Top 1~5 in all my tests (exact cpu speed) with my ti500. and i even have a Corb on there. once i get my u1 cooler, ill probly do even Better. I think its just im not being understood here.

well i have to reinstall my drivers, cuz i was trying to get thew new betas to work, but didnt get anywhere, so i hope reinstalling them didnt mess up anything. well im gonna do test be4 it gets to hot.
BBIAB
 

{PMS}fishy

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2001
Dissolved said:


i dont believe in looping 3dmark for freaking 12hrs strong like some of you guys do. thats just dumb. im always idle unless im gaming. and when im gamming i usualy only go for an hour, max of 3hrs. so if i can stay stable for 30mins then its good enough. i dont feel like frying my card just to see if i was stable or not. if you get a 3dmark score then You get a 3dmark score. i mean, im not mad or anything, but i did think up of the 3dmark team about a month ago, and i wasnt able to help ideas due some problems i was having with the forums

Well lets say that if you are not testing for stability then how can we trust that your scores are run off of a truley stable system. You need to run some stability test, over night at the minium. At idle a system is put under no stress, and 3 hours of Counter-Strike hardley proves that its stable. Crunching seti over night at full load on a system that was complety stable playing games, crashed twice, so it was unstable. Which is what I belive your computer to be. If you dont liek SETI of Folding, then try Prime95 and/or Toast over night and see how stable your systme really is. I can get mine to run a 160fsb and complete 3dmark, 5mins is not stable, its a fu***** crap shoot. We all know that if the computer only has to run for 10mins to do a bench we can push it way farther than we would do in any other circumstances. Test the stability of your system and then let me know about your scores.
 

TwEeDeR82

New Member
Joined
Feb 28, 2002
Location
Canada
I'm gonna catch on u somehow Silver, perhaps by overclocking my cpu a bit more, i'll try this when i get back home.

Perhaps adding a 120mm fan to blow on my vid card should cool it of a bit more and then i'll be able to boost it up a little more.
 
OP
Dissolved

Dissolved

Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2001
Location
OC California
{PMS}fishy said:


Well lets say that if you are not testing for stability then how can we trust that your scores are run off of a truley stable system. You need to run some stability test, over night at the minium. At idle a system is put under no stress, and 3 hours of Counter-Strike hardley proves that its stable. Crunching seti over night at full load on a system that was complety stable playing games, crashed twice, so it was unstable. Which is what I belive your computer to be. If you dont liek SETI of Folding, then try Prime95 and/or Toast over night and see how stable your systme really is. I can get mine to run a 160fsb and complete 3dmark, 5mins is not stable, its a fu***** crap shoot. We all know that if the computer only has to run for 10mins to do a bench we can push it way farther than we would do in any other circumstances. Test the stability of your system and then let me know about your scores.

why does it matter? i mean im not gonna test seti all night that is Stupid. i SEE NO point in a sysytem having to be freaking stable for 43547654765465hrs running at full 235982378% load. half the scores on 3dmark are ppl like me. how do u think that macci guy gets his scores? LN2, why dont we go tell him his scores are bogus. i mean i get this all the time. This was my thread and i didnt intend of having to "prove" all this stuff. im not upset or anything at you, i understand why u want a stable score. i just dont believe in it. my gfeti500 is oc'd Very high, running it at full load could fry it, and i dont care to press my luck. i normaly run it about 15-20mhz core/mem lower when im gaming or something just to be sure i dont overheat it.

i tryed running the full test, but 3dmark dissapears after 2mins, so i gotta look at some stuff, i think i need a format, cuz the drivers on my gf3 are messed up pretty bad.. so ill keep trying for a stable test, but i doubt ill get anything good.
 
OP
Dissolved

Dissolved

Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2001
Location
OC California
Silver said:


Definately rooting for you.:)

Thanks, read above.. the reinstall looked like it messed my system up. Stupid betas :(.
plus i noticed i had antialiseing on, and a few others in riva tuner.. so ill wait till tonight to mess with it again.. :'(