• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

I can't get a stable system

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

soldiermxdeath

Registered
Joined
Jun 18, 2020
Hi all!
My memory kits are G.SKill Flare X 3200 MHz, I've been using different settings to use my RAMs, I can't reach 3200 MHz with my Ryzen 5 1600 and ASUS TUF B350M-Plus Gaming, can anyone help me? I struggle to get a stable system even at 3000 MHz, I've tried everything, I have the latest BIOS and drivers, did various stress tests like memtest86, Prime95, etc. Each test lasted a complete day, I use Windows 10 November 2019 Update (I won't use the latest May 2020 Update because I had other kind of problems then I rolled back to the previous version) I've been using DRAM Calculator for Ryzen since I heard of it, the current version I use is 1.7.3
I'm not an expert in this topic but I only want a stable system. If is possible can anyone tell me what settings should I touch or not, what values.

My settings using 3000 MHz

View attachment 210838

This is my memtest86 result I did some days ago:


Summary
Report Date 2020-06-17 07:40:00
Generated by MemTest86 V8.2 Pro (64-bit)
Result PASS
System Information
EFI Specifications 2.60
System
Manufacturer System manufacturer
Product Name System Product Name
Version System Version
Serial Number System Serial Number
BIOS
Vendor American Megatrends Inc.
Version 5222
Release Date 10/14/2019
Baseboard
Manufacturer ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC.
Product Name TUF B350M-PLUS GAMING
Version Rev X.0x
Serial Number 170909855200446
CPU Type AMD Ryzen 5 1600 Six-Core
CPU Clock 3716 MHz
# Logical Processors 12
L1 Cache 12 x 96K (77027 MB/s)
L2 Cache 12 x 512K (67976 MB/s)
L3 Cache 1 x 16384K (32847 MB/s)
Memory 16332M (19443 MB/s)
DIMM Slot #0 8GB DDR4 XMP PC4-25600
G Skill Intl / F4-3200C14-8GFX
14-14-14-34 / 3200 MHz / 1.350V
DIMM Slot #1 8GB DDR4 XMP PC4-25600
G Skill Intl / F4-3200C14-8GFX
14-14-14-34 / 3200 MHz / 1.350V
Result summary
Test Start Time 2020-06-17 00:02:21
Elapsed Time 7:00:33
Memory Range Tested 0x0 - 41F380000 (16883MB)
CPU Selection Mode Parallel (All CPUs)
ECC Polling Enabled
# Tests Passed 112/112 (100%)
Test # Tests Passed Errors
Test 0 [Address test, walking ones, 1 CPU] 8/8 (100%) 0
Test 1 [Address test, own address, 1 CPU] 8/8 (100%) 0
Test 2 [Address test, own address] 8/8 (100%) 0
Test 3 [Moving inversions, ones & zeroes] 8/8 (100%) 0
Test 4 [Moving inversions, 8-bit pattern] 8/8 (100%) 0
Test 5 [Moving inversions, random pattern] 8/8 (100%) 0
Test 6 [Block move, 64-byte blocks] 8/8 (100%) 0
Test 7 [Moving inversions, 32-bit pattern] 8/8 (100%) 0
Test 8 [Random number sequence] 8/8 (100%) 0
Test 9 [Modulo 20, ones & zeros] 8/8 (100%) 0
Test 10 [Bit fade test, 2 patterns, 1 CPU] 8/8 (100%) 0
Test 11 [Random number sequence, 64-bit] 8/8 (100%) 0
Test 12 [Random number sequence, 128-bit] 8/8 (100%) 0
Test 13 [Hammer test] 8/8 (100%) 0
Certification
This document certifies that the Tests described above have been carried out by a suitably qualified technician on the System described above.
Signed
 

Attachments

  • G.Skill F4-3200C14D-16GFX 1.7.3 3000.jpg
    G.Skill F4-3200C14D-16GFX 1.7.3 3000.jpg
    209.9 KB · Views: 244

trents

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2008
So it's stable during stress tests but not in everyday use and at idle? When is the system unstable?

Have you tried bumping the SOC voltage up and/or the RAM voltage itself?

Do you have the latest motherboard bios installed?
 
Last edited:
OP
S

soldiermxdeath

Registered
Joined
Jun 18, 2020
Yes I already said I have all updated, BIOS, Drivers. Motherboard supports only CPU and SOC offset, I put It SOC Offset 0.0375. RAM Voltage is 1.35 V, during 1 or 2 months I thought I solved It but some days ago the issues appeared again. I used the alt values of DRAM calculator and nothing helped me.
I hope changing the Ryzen for 3600 will solved It, because it supports natively 3200 MHz, meanwhile Ryzen 5 1600 officialy supports 2666 MHz, beyond that is a matter of luck, but buying a newer CPU or Motherboard is the last option, so I want to discard all options.
 

trents

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2008
My wife's computer is running FlareX samsung B die just like you with a Ryzen 1600 on an ASRock B450 pro. Runs it at 3200 mhz no problem. Your issue could be the motherboard or bios just not being quite compatible. Did you try raising the RAM voltage to 1.4? Maybe it just needs a little more juice to overcome some subtiming that isn't quite right.
 
OP
S

soldiermxdeath

Registered
Joined
Jun 18, 2020
I've read 1.40 is more dangerous but I'll try later. If this doesn't work, what other setting should I edit on BIOS? what settings use your wife? for example SOC Voltage on Auto, only primary timings, LLC and SoC LLC both on auto or what?
 

trents

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2008
1.4 is not dangerous. Dangerous is maybe 1.6 volts.

All stock settings except RAM on XMP on my wife's computer.
 

Zerileous

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2002
You could try increasing LLC for the SOC, probably don't need to crank it but a mid range setting might help. Is the CPU itself stock or overclocked?

Your attachment didn't work for me. Please host it here by using the picture icon above the reply box.

You've got a budget motherboard and a budget CPU with top dollar ram, one of them is holding you back.

I didn't see an answer to trents' question of what circumstances it is unstable.

The easiest way I've found to test stability with memory is Prime95, select blend, and then select custom and change it to use most of your memory, so for 16GB it would be around 12GB. You can use a monitoring program like HWiNFO64 to see (roughly) what the SOC voltage is during the load to help adjust LLC. Memtest will tell you if a module is damaged, but not necessarily if there is instability, especially in the memory controller.
 
OP
S

soldiermxdeath

Registered
Joined
Jun 18, 2020
As I said I've tried many things, one of them was LCC even to the highest value, both cpu stock and OC, a completa day of Prime95 test using different settings with no issues, Aida64. Etc. Yes I use HWiNFO64, all temps are fine, and It shows SOC voltage between 1.125 - 1.37. I have this issue since July 2019, I replaced my Corsair LPX White 3200 @3000 (I never reached 3200 stable with them) for this kit.
Thats I asked here what are the settings I must enter on bios.

- - - Auto-Merged Double Post - - -

G.Skill F4-3200C14D-16GFX 1.7.3 3000.jpg
 

trents

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2008
You still haven't answered the question: "Under what use scenario is the system unstable?" You say it passes all the stress tests so when is it unstable?

And you don't say you have tried my suggestion of raising the DRAM voltage to 1.4. If you want us to help you we need some cooperation. With the RAM you have, you shouldn't have to change timings. Just use XMP. and bump the voltage a bit.
 

Attachments

  • DRAM 1.4.png
    DRAM 1.4.png
    518.5 KB · Views: 185
OP
S

soldiermxdeath

Registered
Joined
Jun 18, 2020
It happens randomly when I'm on desktop, or while playing Gears 5, or using Chrome, right now I use 1.4 and no issues yet, and I also used only XMP and I got BSOD.
i did several post in the past with examples:

https://forums.gearsofwar.com/t/game-crashes-freezes-error-gw502-bsod-a-disaster/30305

https://forums.tomshardware.com/threads/application-error-1000.3576803/#post-21595189

https://forums.tomshardware.com/threads/windows-freezes.3534547/#post-21384228

When I though I solved it, the problem appears again, for example I though I solved the BSOD, I used my PC for 2 months with no BSOD until now, and after that I got random freezes, again when I'm only on windows desktop or using Chrome or playing any game.
Actually my goal is only reach 3000 MHz beacuse 32000 MHz is quite impossible on my B350, so 1.4 V is too high for that. And my dram calculator screenshot is for 3000, not 3200.
 
Last edited:

trents

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2008
Are you sure the BSODs are caused by the RAM? What about a bad driver somewhere?
 
OP
S

soldiermxdeath

Registered
Joined
Jun 18, 2020
What bad driver? all are up to date, all downloaded from official sources, I always uninstall the gpu driver with DDU, and I'm not saying that my RAMs are exactly the faulty, maybe my Ryzen 5 1600 can't reach speeds above 2933 or my motherboard is trash, or maybe I must put an exact timing or whatever that I don't know, I would be nice if someone who has the same CPU, RAM and a b350 motherboard and share his experience and settings.
 

trents

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2008
It may be just a combination of things; CPU, board and RAM that just aren't playing together well. But I suspect if you picked up a Ryzen 2 or Ryzen 3 your problems would disappear. Have you looked at the Ryzen 1600AF? It's essentially a 2nd gen Ryzen 2600 and goes for a tad over $100 on Amazon.

https://www.techspot.com/review/1977-amd-ryzen-1600-af/
 
OP
S

soldiermxdeath

Registered
Joined
Jun 18, 2020
Yes but I didn't find It here in Mexico, my last option would be the 3600. Then I hope only buying that CPU and not a B550 mobo solves this.
 

trents

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2008
Well, if it doesn't solve it you will be replacing one component at a time and you will eventually correct the issue.
 

Zerileous

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2002
Nobody can tell you the exact settings that will work for your system. Edited to say: your dependence on the timing calculator could be holding you back. It's okay for a starting point, but it is not 100%, every system is different, there is no such thing as, "1.4v is too high for 3000MHz because the calculator said so"

I agree with trents though, if you can pass 2h+ of prime 95 blend set to use 12GB of memory, or AIDA64 memory+cache stress test, I don't think memory is the problem.

Does it only blue screen once in a month or two, or is it a problem where it goes away for a while and then comes back and blue screens frequently? Have you checked for corrupt OS files? https://support.microsoft.com/en-us...er-tool-to-repair-missing-or-corrupted-system
 
OP
S

soldiermxdeath

Registered
Joined
Jun 18, 2020
They said that updating the bios to the latest version (I already had updated my mobo I said before) and turning off the eco mode they solved his problem, well it doesn't apply with me, I already had off the eco mode of my PSU...