• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

I finally pelted my Bird.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Colin

Arctic Silver Senior
Joined
Dec 19, 2000
I finally got around to installing the 156 watt TEC in my box today. Did the whole thing in just over two hours. To speed things up, I used Aqua Seal with Cotol-240 hardener for a conformal coating. Since Aqua Seal is used in repairing wetsuits, it’s also ideal for holding neoprene insulation on the motherboard.

The results are idle temps of –2C and full load temps of 33C with a rather warm pre-spring California ambient temp of 24C. Also I was able to bump up from 1325 mHz to 1363 mHz. Note that the pelt is powered by the same Enermax 651 that runs the rest of my box. The 12 volt line is at 11.71 volts according to VIA’s Hardware Monitor. An external 15 volt power supply would provide better cooling.
 

dimmreaper

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2000
Location
home
Definitely go for an external 15V PSU Colin.

As I'm sure your aware, just because you running the peltier at 80% of it's Vmax, does not mean you are receiving 80% of it's cooling ability. It's probably only pumping around 110W at 12V.
 
OP
C

Colin

Arctic Silver Senior
Joined
Dec 19, 2000
Jeff Evans (Mar 15, 2001 02:08 a.m.):
Definitely go for an external 15V PSU Colin.

As I'm sure your aware, just because you running the peltier at 80% of it's Vmax, does not mean you are receiving 80% of it's cooling ability. It's probably only pumping around 110W at 12V.

Yeah, I probably will, if for no other reason than just to try it. There’s one just getting dusty out in the garage. Kinda wanted to keep everything in the same box. Besides, I am close to the limit on this chip. There is a computer show this weekend in Fresno. If there is a Bird with the right code, it’s time for an A series board and one of the low voltage, low temp, high speed Birds. Given what I have read, it’s possible that with a newer Bird, an external power supply may not be necessary.
 

dimmreaper

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2000
Location
home
Even if you can't find a good 1.2G voltage dropper, you should pick up a KT133A MoBo just for the hell of it.
 
OP
C

Colin

Arctic Silver Senior
Joined
Dec 19, 2000
I think you are right Jeff. Probably a better LAN card too. This one does not like anything over 110 mHz FSB.
 

rusty

Registered
Joined
May 24, 2001
Colin (Mar 15, 2001 02:03 a.m.):
I finally got around to installing the 156 watt TEC in my box today. Did the whole thing in just over two hours. To speed things up, I used Aqua Seal with Cotol-240 hardener for a conformal coating. Since Aqua Seal is used in repairing wetsuits, it’s also ideal for holding neoprene insulation on the motherboard.

The results are idle temps of –2C and full load temps of 33C with a rather warm pre-spring California ambient temp of 24C. Also I was able to bump up from 1325 mHz to 1363 mHz. Note that the pelt is powered by the same Enermax 651 that runs the rest of my box. The 12 volt line is at 11.71 volts according to VIA’s Hardware Monitor. An external 15 volt power supply would provide better cooling.

hi Colin i m using the same 156W TEC and the same Enermax 651 PSU +Watercooling
so me too i m powering the whole stuff with only 1 PSU but my Probleme is that i m getting 30C IDLE i was wondering to have at least 0C but something is wrong in my stuff so i hope that u ll help me to fix it even when i try with 2 Enermax 651 PSU 1 for the TEC and the other for the system i m still getting the same result but i m in 12V only i didn t make the mod to get 15V maybe 15V may help but at least now i should have the same result as u
A7V133 [email protected] 1.85vcore
 
OP
C

Colin

Arctic Silver Senior
Joined
Dec 19, 2000
Rusty,

It sounds like you are not getting the heat out of the pelt. What block, radiator and pump are you using?
 
OP
C

Colin

Arctic Silver Senior
Joined
Dec 19, 2000
Update, things are settling in. Idle temp is down to -7 C.
 
OP
C

Colin

Arctic Silver Senior
Joined
Dec 19, 2000
Two things. Air bubbles bled out of the cooling system and excess Artic Silver migrated out of the thermal interfaces.
 
OP
C

Colin

Arctic Silver Senior
Joined
Dec 19, 2000
Two things. Air bubbles bled out of the cooling system and excess Artic Silver migrated out of the thermal interfaces.
 
OP
C

Colin

Arctic Silver Senior
Joined
Dec 19, 2000
Dang dreaded double post. The server is slow tonight and keeps giving me errors.
 

rusty

Registered
Joined
May 24, 2001
Colin (Mar 15, 2001 05:28 p.m.):
Rusty,

It sounds like you are not getting the heat out of the pelt. What block, radiator and pump are you using?

here is how my Watercooling looks like
[img="[URL]http://www.aquastealth.com/images/customer1.jpg[/URL]"]
so i hope that nothing is wrong on it so please help me i really wana reach the same temp as you are so i can O/C more thanks
 
OP
C

Colin

Arctic Silver Senior
Joined
Dec 19, 2000
Bear in mind, I am no cooling guru. Two things strike me. I wonder if the radiator can handle the heat from the pelt? Probably more important, how many gallons per hour is your pump rated for?
 

rusty

Registered
Joined
May 24, 2001
Colin (Mar 16, 2001 12:16 a.m.):
Bear in mind, I am no cooling guru. Two things strike me. I wonder if the radiator can handle the heat from the pelt? Probably more important, how many gallons per hour is your pump rated for?

i thank you for your help at least you try and i m sure that we ll find what s wrong The pump is a RIO 180; the flow rate is about 38 gallons/hour i hope that it s enough i tough that maybe the peltier is deffective i try a 122W peltier but the probleme still persist i m really lost
 
OP
C

Colin

Arctic Silver Senior
Joined
Dec 19, 2000
Based on my personal experience, 38 GPH seems like the weak link. Read this http://www2.apex.net/users/timwhita/flowrates.html . I have also read that radiators similar to the one in the pic you posted may have a difficult time dealing with high heat loads. Note that I have only read about the radiator but have experienced the comments on water flow.
 

rusty

Registered
Joined
May 24, 2001
Colin (Mar 16, 2001 12:50 a.m.):
Based on my personal experience, 38 GPH seems like the weak link. Read this http://www2.apex.net/users/timwhita/flowrates.html . I have also read that radiators similar to the one in the pic you posted may have a difficult time dealing with high heat loads. Note that I have only read about the radiator but have experienced the comments on water flow.

ah sorry it s 120GPH i just make a small mistake
 
OP
C

Colin

Arctic Silver Senior
Joined
Dec 19, 2000
FWIW I had a Rio 800 (160 GPH @1 ft.) running inline. When I switched to a 650 GPH @ 1 ft., my temps dropped 3 degrees. This was before I installed the pelt. My block, radiator and pump can dispose of large quantities of heat. Even so, my water temps went up 10 C after adding the 156 watt pelt. Based on this, I would try a high flow pump first and if necessary, a larger radiator.
 

surlyjoe

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2000
Location
far west
The flow rate isnt the prob ,anythin over 90gph is pretty much overkill, Its possible the rad is too small , have you checked the water temps at the exit ? could be a bad peltier too , I have gotten duds before
 

rusty

Registered
Joined
May 24, 2001
if i put 2 radiator like this do u think that it ll help??
[img="[URL]http://www.aquastealth.com/experiment7.jpg[/URL]"]
[img="[URL]http://www.aquastealth.com/experiment6.jpg[/URL]"]