• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

I just got a P4 2.4B C1, and I'm not happy

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.
OP
Overclocker456

Overclocker456

Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2002
Location
New York
Vulpes said:
Overclocker456, how far had u been able to push your board?

My asus P4B533 cannot go over 140fsb whatever i try doing with it (memory problems, thus prime problems) i have tried a p4 1.8a (which now runs at 2.8ghz in ALTPIMP's rig) and a new 2.0ghz C1 Cpu (which now runs here at 2.8 as well, it is 140 fsb) so my P4B533 has a definate limit at 140 fsb. Cant wait for new granite bay mobos to show up :)

The P4B533 was an amazing board.. I 'm using the P4PE and I don't like it.. I NEVER had a problem with the P4b533.. I always got the most out of my chips.. the bus speed was never a problem.. try looking in the bios to make sure the settings are right...
 

micamica1217

Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2002
Overclocker456 said:


The P4B533 was an amazing board.. I 'm using the P4PE and I don't like it.. I NEVER had a problem with the P4b533.. I always got the most out of my chips.. the bus speed was never a problem.. try looking in the bios to make sure the settings are right...

what don't you like about the P4PE?

mica
 

SBeaver

Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2002
Location
Sweden
Anyone else of you guys get screwed by the packing date?
Mine was 26/11 but it was really a week 36 if I remember it right.
Sucks
 

micamica1217

Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2002
SBeaver said:
Anyone else of you guys get screwed by the packing date?
Mine was 26/11 but it was really a week 36 if I remember it right.
Sucks

hows this for crazy....

pack date: 11/11/02

fpo/batch# 7236A538

yes mine is a week 36 as well, yet mine is a B0. SL6EU

mica
 

SBeaver

Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2002
Location
Sweden
Any attempt by you to make me sad because of my bad-clocking cpu is fended off by your... shall we say, visual difficulties :p
 

Dexx

Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2002
Location
Perth, WA
micamica1217 said:
have you noticed that most C1 2.4b are having a hard time reaching 3.0ghz???

I'm not saying that you'll never see a C1 reach 3.0+, but most are hitting 2.9ghz.....makes one wonder why peeps are willing to pay more for less mhz. now take a look at most B0 2.4b's....they almost always hit 3.0ghz

Strangely we are seeing the reverse down under.
Most B0 fall short of 3G whilst the few C1 chips around reach
3.1
 

LoopyLee-C

Registered
Joined
Aug 12, 2002
Location
UK
I have just got the 2.4b and am having no problems clocking it to 2.8g (run out of FSB) but im having temp problems. Eazytune 4 says its running at 55c under full load but sisoft is saying 20c`s less ? Dont know what to trust ?
 

texasfit

Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Location
Austin, TX ; USA
Just got this chip yesterday. Running 170.5fsb = 3069Mhz.
Put it in today and so far stable after running tons of bench'es and have Prime95 running plus the past 4hrs.

2.4b . C1 . Air Cooing
SL6EF
Pack Date 11/27/02
FPO/Batch 7243A390 – Philippines
Version # C10670-001

Abit BD7II-Raid i845E
BIOS Version CQ
Alpha PAL8942 w/Sunon 50cfm fan
Arctic Silver III
Antec SX1040 ; P/S PP412X 400watt
Onboard 10/100 NIC
Maxtor Plus9 6Y120P0 120Gb
Maxtor D740X 6L040L2 40Gb
ATI All in Wonder Radeon 8500 128Mb (Default Settings)
Soundblaster Live 5.1
 
OP
Overclocker456

Overclocker456

Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2002
Location
New York
texasfit said:
Just got this chip yesterday. Running 170.5fsb = 3069Mhz.
Put it in today and so far stable after running tons of bench'es and have Prime95 running plus the past 4hrs.

2.4b . C1 . Air Cooing
SL6EF
Pack Date 11/27/02
FPO/Batch 7243A390 – Philippines
Version # C10670-001

Abit BD7II-Raid i845E
BIOS Version CQ
Alpha PAL8942 w/Sunon 50cfm fan
Arctic Silver III
Antec SX1040 ; P/S PP412X 400watt
Onboard 10/100 NIC
Maxtor Plus9 6Y120P0 120Gb
Maxtor D740X 6L040L2 40Gb
ATI All in Wonder Radeon 8500 128Mb (Default Settings)
Soundblaster Live 5.1

nice OC... but I'm very happy with 3.4GHz.. see sig below..
 

method().man

Member
Joined
Dec 4, 2002
Location
Hell's Kitchen
For the people here with P4PEs, are you guys reading voltage while it's on idle or full load? With my P4PE, I notice that while idle, my systems tends to overvolt by about .1; while under load, it hits about what I have it set in BIOS.
 
OP
Overclocker456

Overclocker456

Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2002
Location
New York
method().man said:
For the people here with P4PEs, are you guys reading voltage while it's on idle or full load? With my P4PE, I notice that while idle, my systems tends to overvolt by about .1; while under load, it hits about what I have it set in BIOS.

yeah the P4PE overvolts by .1v
 

asw7576

Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2002
Location
Jakarta
OC456: Yeah ... I understand your "high" expectation from P4's C1 to reach 3GHz level. I just bought Celeron 1.2 TB1 and it doesn't overclock well too. Even with 1.75V , the chip won't boot at 133FSB.