• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

i need to play dos games

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

james.miller

Member
Joined
Jun 8, 2002
Location
Dunstable, uk
but i have xp? can i use a dos boot disk to run the games?

i really dont want to have to dual boot

if i can use a boot disk can sombody point me in the right direction?

cheers
 

Monaco

Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2001
Location
Denver, Colorado
you'll need to build yourself a good DOS boot disk; XP just doesn't come with any DOS to run the old games.

Personally I've always liked teh bootdisk that Windows 98 can make you, I just make one of those and tweak it as needed. If you don't have Win98, you can always check out the
Ultimate BootDisk.
 

Monaco

Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2001
Location
Denver, Colorado
lol that's the reason to keep a Win98 box handy, it can make an awesome boot disk for you automatically:D

all I do usually is copy SMARTDRV to it as well, and it can run just about anything. I don't remember if it inits your sound for you, tho.
 

Captain Slug

Helpful Senior Member
Joined
May 23, 2001
Location
Asteroid B-612
Or you can change your boot order so that the CD-ROM boots before your hard drive. Then pop in the Windows98 CD and select CD-ROM from the boot menu when your system starts.

It will ask you if you need CD-ROM support (you probably won't) and it won't have any sound drivers loaded.

The other option would be to make your own bootable DOS CD. I've only done this once and persumably you can add sound and mouse drivers instead of a CD-ROM iso.

I'm curious as to what game you're trying to play though...
 

Mr. Chambers

Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2001
Location
Iowa
M.A.X. anyone remember this game? it sucked up like 3 years of my life... i REALLY wish they'd do a third game in this series, they did a second one, but it totally sucked compared to the first...
 
OP
james.miller

james.miller

Member
Joined
Jun 8, 2002
Location
Dunstable, uk
Captain Slug said:
Or you can change your boot order so that the CD-ROM boots before your hard drive. Then pop in the Windows98 CD and select CD-ROM from the boot menu when your system starts.

It will ask you if you need CD-ROM support (you probably won't) and it won't have any sound drivers loaded.

The other option would be to make your own bootable DOS CD. I've only done this once and persumably you can add sound and mouse drivers instead of a CD-ROM iso.

I'm curious as to what game you're trying to play though...
]

oh yeah of course - stupid me!!!!

well thats easy then. i can choose which device to boot from when i press F8 so DA DA! problem solved.

im gonna do this because i cant be bothered to pull the floppy out of my other pc
 
OP
james.miller

james.miller

Member
Joined
Jun 8, 2002
Location
Dunstable, uk
oh actually problem not solved. infact problem harder to solve than i thought.

my c:drive is a ntfs drive. it wont be recognised by dos will it?

what option do i have?
i have a spare 3gig fugitsu. if i install that as drive d: with fat32, will dos see it as drive c: or d: ?

if it sees it as c: will that cause problems with my actuall drive c: (ie write to it by mistake)?
 

baqai

Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2002
Location
Karachi, Pakistan
well i have my e: and g: NTFS partitions and when i bootup with win98 boot cd those partitions simply don't show up like they don't even exist, i do my work and when i bootup to Win XP everything is normal
 
OP
james.miller

james.miller

Member
Joined
Jun 8, 2002
Location
Dunstable, uk
yes but i have c: as ntfs

if i add a d:drive that is fat then when i boot from it it would it call itself c:, becuase it cant see the ral c: drive?

would that cause any problems? i dont want to risk it on a full 80gb drive
 

Captain Slug

Helpful Senior Member
Joined
May 23, 2001
Location
Asteroid B-612
james.miller said:
yes but i have c: as ntfs

if i add a d:drive that is fat then when i boot from it it would it call itself c:, becuase it cant see the ral c: drive?

would that cause any problems? i dont want to risk it on a full 80gb drive

It should show up as D: but you can't be sure until you try it.
 

baqai

Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2002
Location
Karachi, Pakistan
i think so it will show up as c: becuase in win98 drive letters rearrange themselves incase there is a ntfs partition (or atleast that's what i gathered from my experience) and i faced no problems when i booted from winxp