• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

SOLVED I think I need a different BIOS (990fxa-ud3)

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

knoober

Ive been working with this 990fxa-ud3 (r4.1) with a 955BE and im starting to get a bit frustrated. On the latest BIOS (I forget which one but there are only 2) I coulnt overclock at all. I checked to make sure I had the latest drivers, reset the cmos, reflashed the bios and tinkered with all the settings until I was blue in the face. The last thing before I brought a post in here was to roll back the bios to the only other available version. This one is ... OK. I can OC reasonably, the settings are near identical, but there is one little problem: I cant boot twice with any of the stable OC's I achieve!

My last run in prime95 ran for 4 hours and I got a couple of degrees to high (57C) but only for a minute before I was sitting back at a cooler temp (53-54C for most of the run). Near the end of the 4 hours temps were creeping back up towards 56-57C again so I cut the test and went back to see if I could trim some voltage somewhere and get a little lower temp. It turns out that I might not be able to. Every bit of voltage that I could trim from anywhere led to a non-boot situation. So I did what anyone who values their sanity would do and went back to the last stable config. The problem is that I cant boot into the OS twice in a row. I get the boot failure message and the option to reset to optimized defaults or enter the bios, but if I enter the bios and save->reboot (making no changes) then I *usually* get a normal boot. Any idea what is going on here? I did save a screenshot from my 4 hour run if it would help, but Im leaning towards something being funky with the bios. The latest one was a complete flake so I cant imagine an older one wouldnt have atleast a hin