• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

I was wondering...

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Tacoman667

Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2001
Location
Kingwood, TX
Would putting a peltier directly on the die of the CPU be damaging? I figure instead of transferring the cold through the cooling plate then to the CPU would be a little warmer then say, directly from the pelt to the CPU. Any thoughts?
 

It_The_Cow

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2001
Location
Indiana
It wouldn't be damaging, but you would get much less cooling. Cold plates are used to help spread the heat throughout so the peltier can use its whole surface area to cool. When in direct contact with the die, you would only get about 1.5cm^2 of cooling as compared to 4cm^2
 
OP
T

Tacoman667

Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2001
Location
Kingwood, TX
Technically speaking though, you would actually get a better cooling. The pelt will directly cool off the CPU die and the rest, "unused" portions of the peltier would actually assist in cooling itself off. Am I hindering on the brink of insanity thinking this?
 
W

William

Guest
You want a cold plate. You need the ENTIRE peltier not just part of it to take the heat away so you need to spread it with a cold plate. Also, a cold plate will even out the temp fluctuations a pelt will go through from varying currents and these could damage your die. In short, use a cold plate.
 

Richard

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2001
The others are right. You should use a cold plate.

William (Jul 29, 2001 08:30 p.m.):
You want a cold plate. You need the ENTIRE peltier not just part of it to take the heat away so you need to spread it with a cold plate. Also, a cold plate will even out the temp fluctuations a pelt will go through from varying currents and these could damage your die. In short, use a cold plate.
 
W

William

Guest
Tacoman667 (Jul 29, 2001 09:13 p.m.):
No need to be hostile, hehe. I was just wondering about that subject. Thanks for the info guys!

no problem, I wasn't hostile, I was firm. Now you know. Give us some results if you do a pelt.
 
OP
T

Tacoman667

Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2001
Location
Kingwood, TX
I will, as soon as I get a small, inexpensive PSU for it. I still haven't found one yet and am starting to give up hope. My pelt is from dangerden and is the 156W one. They say it's vmax is 15.8v and imax is 16.1a. I can't find a PSU cheap enough to max both values out. It's soo damn hard these days.