• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

I will NEVER buy an OCZ product again

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

flynismo

I apologize ahead of time for venting, but I need to share my experience with whoever may read this one day and wanting to buy an OCZ product.

In May 2013 (give or take a month), I purchased an OCZ Vector 128 GB SSD

After 6 weeks, it died. I RMA'd it, and two weeks later my replacement arrived.

This time, the SSD managed to survive a whole 3 months before it died. Please understand, I am a C and PHP programmer by profession, with much of my work done at home. I CANNOT afford to lose hours of work because of garbage products! I do backup regularly, however, when working, I cannot stop every 15 minutes to back up my files. So naturally, I was a bit upset that two drives failed on me in a span of 4 and a half months. I called OCZ, told them I was displeased, and got the specch about how rare it is their products fail and they are sorry, blah blah.
Ten days after shipping the second RMA, I got the replacement drive. They assured me that this drive came with the latest firmware installed (v 2.0 at the time), and I would not have any more drives fail on me.

Sure enough, this third drive lasted a whopping six months, until it died on me.

This time I was furious....I demanded a refund. They said no, they do not do refunds. I asked if they would at least send me a package to ship it back; my previous two returns cost me nearly $20 each for packing and insurance. No, they can't do that either.
So I hung up, called back, and after one hour of being on hold, the line just went dead, as if someone picked up and hung up the phone.