• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

I would appreciate some help

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

cybertron

Hey guys. I'm a high school student with a passing interest in overclocking. I'm currently working on a research paper about overclocking, but of course, all of my sources are on the internet (most of them on overclockers.com). Because of this, my teacher suggested that I do an interview, and the oc.com forum was the first thing that came to mind. I would really appreciate it if some of you could answer any or all of the following questions. I would also need your real name (or a name you make up that would sound real;-) Thanks in advance.

1) Briefly, what is your overclocking experience?

2) Have you ever had a component permanently damaged from overclocking?

3) What would you say are some important safety measures to be taken when overclocking?

4) Do you have any unique methods for overclocking?

5) What would you say is a good amount to spend on a computer you intend to overclock?

6) Any other information that you think is important that I may have left out.

Thanks again.

RED Hot Machine

Inactive Moderator
Firstly Welcome to the Forums,

And to answer your questions

1. I've overclocked my Geforce 2, 1.4 Tbird, Slot A 800 Athlon and a cyrix. I along with messing around with Computers since I was 5.

2. I've partly fried a stick of ram, but something major.

3. Safety for you or the Machine? If its the machine then HEAT. If its you then watch out for the capacitors on your board and PSU, they will give you a nasty zap.

4. Not Really, I just push it untill it stops then back it down a bit.

5. You always end up spending more, but around £800 I would say.

6. Not that i can think off.

Let us know how your paper goes.

Cy