• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

i2500k OC

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

xander2k

Hello , this is my first attempt in tryn to OC this CPU . I have a new GPU and i want to give the CPU a boost too. Im on a asrock z68 extreme3 gen3. The only thing i did for now is to set the multiplyer to 40 and leave everything else alone and tried to watch the values for voltage . This is where i stopped because i dont rlly know what to read . I have two voltages , the VCore wich stays ok even on auto and the VID wich goes crazy . Give me a help here guys pelase x.png

Mjolnir

That voltage looks like it's also on auto.

My 2500k back in the day ran 4.5ghz at 1.3v. Consider 4.2ghz at around 1.25v with LLC in the bios set to high. Realistically this should net you something relatively stable, as I've done it over 3 different sandy chips and didn't have a problem, but your mileage may vary.

What's the rest of your system specs.

wingman99

The Vcore is the voltage going to the CPU. The VID is the (Voltage identification) from the CPU according to load, VID tells the VRM what to set the Vcore to dynamically when using auto or offset.

OP
X

xander2k

Ok so what should i do now ?:) Can i let it on 4Ghz auto even if the vid goes as high as 1.45 ? . The vcore never goes over 1.27 even after 3-4 hours of prime.
Rest of the rig is 16 gb corsair venegance 1600 , intel ssd 240, gtx 1060 and i can't remember what psu i have sorry .
PS . I'd really want to go with 4.0 4.2 to help the gtx . My load line is already high . Should i start messing with voltage offset till i get a better vid or should i watch the vcore to be steady under 1.3v and forget about vid ?

trents