• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

i7 5820k and memory overclocking help needed

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Rob_

Registered
Joined
Jul 29, 2016
Firstly I'm new here so hi everyone :)

Seems I'm not the only guy that's ran in to issues here but I've recently got my 5820k running fine at 4.5ghz with 1.24vcore and decided to step up the memory to atleast it's stock 2800 frequency.

I had it running at 2400mhz without issue but if I turn on either XMP profile (2800-3000) it'll boot but when I run Aida64 it'll fail within 30 seconds.
I'm not entirely sure where to go from here, I'm kinda new to memory overclocking.. I did bring the cpu down to below 4ghz to see if that would help but the results are still the same.
Asides from vcore all voltages are still on Auto

Where should I go from here?
Any help would be appreciated.

Specs
i7 5820k
Asus X99 Deluxe
Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 2800 MHz 16-18-18-36 XMP 2.0
Corsair HX1000
AMD R9 290 x2
 

EarthDog

Gulper Nozzle Co-Owner
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Location
Buckeyes!
I'm surprised it doesn't 'just work' when you switch to XMP...

Have you tried raising the System Agent (SA) voltage .1 from stock or so and see if that helps? Is your motherboard BIOS updated to the latest version?
 
OP
Rob_

Rob_

Registered
Joined
Jul 29, 2016
I'm surprised it doesn't 'just work' when you switch to XMP...

Have you tried raising the System Agent (SA) voltage .1 from stock or so and see if that helps? Is your motherboard BIOS updated to the latest version?

Thank you for the reply, EarthDog.

I upped it from 0.8 to 0.9 and it failed but after two minutes in aida.. before it failed within 30 seconds. Yes I'm using the latest bios.
 

Woomack

Benching Team Leader
Joined
Jan 2, 2005
2800 is working only at 127.3mhz bclk while on some boards 100mhz is more stable even at higher clocks. I would check one of these settings:
45x100bclk CPU + memory manually at 2666 ( 26.66x100 ) with enabled XMP and manual 1.35V memory voltage
45x100bclk CPU + memory manually at 3000 ( 30x100 ) with enabled XMP and manual 1.35V memory voltage
45x100bclk CPU + memory manually at 2666 and manual timings 15-16-16-35 command rate 2n, 1.35V
45x100bclk CPU + memory manually at 3000 and manual timings 15-16-16-35 command rate 2n, 1.35V

VCCSA should work at stock but maybe motherboard is undervolting it. Usually it's 0.95V so set it to 1.0V and check if it's helping.

... also :welcome: to the OCF.
 
OP
Rob_

Rob_

Registered
Joined
Jul 29, 2016
Logic tells you to try +.2V now and see...(wouldn't go much higher than that). Perhaps look at raising VccIN as well.

Again, is the BIOS updated to the latest version? There may be some memory compatibility or stability updates in newer versions...
https://www.asus.com/us/Motherboards/X99DELUXE/HelpDesk_Download/

Thanks for asking again.. I checked the Asus website to find out they released a new one 4 days ago.
I'll apply that now and try setting things again.
 

EarthDog

Gulper Nozzle Co-Owner
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Location
Buckeyes!
I doubt it will help if you are that caught up, but its worth a try anyway. :)

I would look at that SA at 1.0V and try what our local memory guru Woomack suggested.


EDIT: Crap, that's right... are you currently overclocked on the CPU? Because it will raise BCLK to 125, this will also overclock your CPU! That may be the issue... Try either lowering the CPU multi so its stock, or give core voltage a .15V from stock and see if that helps.
 
OP
Rob_

Rob_

Registered
Joined
Jul 29, 2016
2800 is working only at 127.3mhz bclk while on some boards 100mhz is more stable even at higher clocks. I would check one of these settings:
45x100bclk CPU + memory manually at 2666 ( 26.66x100 ) with enabled XMP and manual 1.35V memory voltage
45x100bclk CPU + memory manually at 3000 ( 30x100 ) with enabled XMP and manual 1.35V memory voltage
45x100bclk CPU + memory manually at 2666 and manual timings 15-16-16-35 command rate 2n, 1.35V
45x100bclk CPU + memory manually at 3000 and manual timings 15-16-16-35 command rate 2n, 1.35V

VCCSA should work at stock but maybe motherboard is undervolting it. Usually it's 0.95V so set it to 1.0V and check if it's helping.

... also :welcome: to the OCF.

Hello Woomack! Thanks for the welcome and reply :D

The only two XMP profiles I have are for 2800 and 3000.
No luck with the 3000 one.
I did what you said here 45x100bclk CPU + memory manually at 2666 and manual timings 15-16-16-35 command rate 2n, 1.35V I could only set the command rate to 2t which it was at anyway and also set the system agent to 1v but still no results.



I doubt it will help if you are that caught up, but its worth a try anyway. :)

I would look at that SA at 1.0V and try what our local memory guru Woomack suggested.


EDIT: Crap, that's right... are you currently overclocked on the CPU? Because it will raise BCLK to 125, this will also overclock your CPU! That may be the issue... Try either lowering the CPU multi so its stock, or give core voltage a .15V from stock and see if that helps.

I've tried putting the cpu back to pretty much stock speed and then tampering with the ram but the issue still remains.

Bios screens.









No idea what that is.

 

Attachments

  • 160729154000.jpg
    160729154000.jpg
    71.9 KB · Views: 1,100
Last edited:
OP
Rob_

Rob_

Registered
Joined
Jul 29, 2016
I don't seem to be having much luck.

Seeing as I can set the ram to 2400mhz without issue, I guess I should keep it there with the cpu at 4.5.
 

EarthDog

Gulper Nozzle Co-Owner
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Location
Buckeyes!
Did you lower the CPU multiplier and then try XMP profile. As was mentioned, X99 will go to 125 BCLK to reach those memory speeds... this will increase the CPU speed.
 
OP
Rob_

Rob_

Registered
Joined
Jul 29, 2016
Did you lower the CPU multiplier and then try XMP profile. As was mentioned, X99 will go to 125 BCLK to reach those memory speeds... this will increase the CPU speed.

Yes, I did.
I've tried manually setting the timings with 2666mhz and XMP disabled, voltages and even setting the system agent voltage to 1.15 and it boots but still fails in Aida within minutes. Idk what else to tweak.. Is going any higher on the system agent even a good idea and would it help?
That's with the cpu lowered to below 4ghz and BCLK 100.
 

Tír na nÓg

Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2015
^that what I thought as well... Until I lowered the PCH core to default voltage (1.05v, was on 1.250v on auto), and the system would freeze and bsod at the win7 splash screen.

I lowered the memory to 2133/CL15 and it booted.

Raised the mem to 3300/CL14 and the pch to 1.25v and it booted.
 

Tír na nÓg

Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2015
So, foud that on tweaktown:
PCH Core Voltage: This is the PCH's core voltage, at 1.05v it should be more than enough to reach 103MHz, but if you want to go further, you can try increasing this to 1.15-1.25v.


ANd that would make sense, as I decreased the BCLK to go to 2133 settings. will give a try at home!
 
OP
Rob_

Rob_

Registered
Joined
Jul 29, 2016
Thank for for the replies guys, I do appreciate all the help I'm getting here.

Still no luck with Aida, here's how things are set.

40x100bclk cpu
Ram at 2666 15-16-16-35 2t
vcore 1.24 (haven't changed it from bringing the cpu down from 4.5)
System agent 1.0v
Ram 1.35v
PCH core 1.15v
 
OP
Rob_

Rob_

Registered
Joined
Jul 29, 2016
Am I just better off running the ram at stock timings at 2400mhz with the cpu at 4.5ghz?