• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

i7 7700k throttling

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

orcunizma

Hello, yesterday I chose to delid my CPU and im really happy with the thermal results so far. I have an ASUS IX Formula along with a 7700k on a Kraken X62 but I cannot get a stable 5GHz.
I also have to say I'm new to overclocking so I need a bit of advice. So my problem is the CPU is running at 5GHz, but then drops to 4.7 and then back to 5.0 and so on. Temperature reaches 70°C max under Prime95 load and the voltage is set at 1.300V. Windows power settings are set at High Performance.

Settings I've used in the BIOS:

BLCK = 100.00
Sync all Cores = 50
AVX Instruction Core Ratio Negative Offset = 3
CPU Load-line Calibration = Level 5
CPU Core/Cache Current Limit Max = 255.50
Min. CPU Cache Ratio = 43
Max CPU Cache Ratio = 43
CPU Core/Cache Voltage = 1.300
CPU VCCIO Voltage = 1.2
CPU System Agent Voltage = 1.225

Hope for your help

regards

Last edited:
Which version of Prime95 are you using? Unless you're using a really old one, it uses AVX instructions so the AVX offset will kick in, and with those settings that would be 4.7 GHz. Any other software using AVX will likely also trigger the same.

I have the newest one. That is also what I thought but even on the desktop just running CPU-Z, Razer Synapse, NZXT CAM and BullGuard? I will test and disable AVX instructions for testing only and see if it's the cause.

regards

If avx offset is 3, mames sense its dropping to 4.7. :)

Why is your VccIO and SA so high??? What ram do you have? It doesnt work usimg XMP profile?

Please create a signature with a hardware list...

If avx offset is 3, mames sense its dropping to 4.7. :)