• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

IC7-MAX max fsb 230?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

vigilante

New Member
Joined
Jul 2, 2004
Location
Netherlands
I have a problem with my IC7-MAX3. i can't go further than 230 FSB. I know that my system specs can handle an fsb over 260FSB, because with my asus P4P800 Deluxe, i reached an stunning 265Mhz fsb with stock cooling.
I already locked the agp/pci ratio. mem. is running @1:1 2,5-3-3-8. i increased the vcore to 1,675. vmem 2,8. vagp 1,6. i have already tried everything. Mem 5:4, 3:2, nothing seems to help.
And i only reach an poor 230fsb.
The strange thing is that the POST screen boots up correctly. After the POST screen, it freezes at the screen where the DMI POOL should me checked. (the screen just before loading windows)
anyone an idea?


My specs:
IC7 MAX3
P42,6C
Twinmos dualchannel 2x512
Prolink Geforce 5900LE ZM80-HP @ 485/875
Seagate 120Gb S-ata barracuda
Zalman 300W
 
OP
V

vigilante

New Member
Joined
Jul 2, 2004
Location
Netherlands
i already tried that. no result. maybe i was unlucky, and got me an Sh*t mobo. Guess it's back to the Asus P4P800 then
 

veryhumid

Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2004
Location
New Hampshire
yeah my last was an MSI with a 2.8c, couldn't get over 240 ever and after a while at high volts it won't go over 230 at 1.65V. Chips, boards even if it's the same clock speed or model all seem to act a little differently.
 
OP
V

vigilante

New Member
Joined
Jul 2, 2004
Location
Netherlands
i just can't belive that i now only have an fsb of 230 and iwth my P4P800 deluxe an FSB of 265. And this damn mobo was more expensive than my asus
 

veryhumid

Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2004
Location
New Hampshire
you are running quite a bit of hardware, especially that video card. Do you have another power supply to try? Or possible a different video card to pop in that uses less power?
 
OP
V

vigilante

New Member
Joined
Jul 2, 2004
Location
Netherlands
But i don't see the problem, because it's the same hardware that i use on my asus P4P800 deluxe. I do have 2 el cheapo Qtec 550W. But they have a very unstable 12V line. i can try, but i don't thin kit will help any.
 

Zebbo

Mushkin Tech Rep
Joined
Jun 5, 2004
Location
End of the Redline
What revision of IC7-MAX3 do you have?

Version 1.0 and revision A1 IC7-MAX3 boards has this MC60 cap on it and it distrupts very much your overclocking. From version 1.0 and revision A2 and newer this cap has been removed from factor. There's many people who don't seem to know this, so try to remove that MC60 cap (if it is there) and try again. You should gain nice FSB increasing with this.
 

BigStan

Member
Joined
Jul 1, 2004
Location
Dallas, TX
Zebbo said:
What revision of IC7-MAX3 do you have?

Version 1.0 and revision A1 IC7-MAX3 boards has this MC60 cap on it and it distrupts very much your overclocking. From version 1.0 and revision A2 and newer this cap has been removed from factor. There's many people who don't seem to know this, so try to remove that MC60 cap (if it is there) and try again. You should gain nice FSB increasing with this.
It is not the MC60, it is the MC64. Abit has been removing the MC64 since Dec. '03. There was no revision # change when they started selling mobo with the MC64 removed.
 

BigStan

Member
Joined
Jul 1, 2004
Location
Dallas, TX
vigilante said:
I have a problem with my IC7-MAX3. i can't go further than 230 FSB. I know that my system specs can handle an fsb over 260FSB, because with my asus P4P800 Deluxe, i reached an stunning 265Mhz fsb with stock cooling.
I already locked the agp/pci ratio. mem. is running @1:1 2,5-3-3-8. i increased the vcore to 1,675. vmem 2,8. vagp 1,6. i have already tried everything. Mem 5:4, 3:2, nothing seems to help.
And i only reach an poor 230fsb.
The strange thing is that the POST screen boots up correctly. After the POST screen, it freezes at the screen where the DMI POOL should me checked. (the screen just before loading windows)
anyone an idea?


My specs:
IC7 MAX3
P42,6C
Twinmos dualchannel 2x512
Prolink Geforce 5900LE ZM80-HP @ 485/875
Seagate 120Gb S-ata barracuda
Zalman 300W

I don't think it is the mobo. If you have a digital camera, take a pic of your SoftMenu setting and post them.

Also, If the "Zalman 300w" is your PSU, that could be a problem.
 
OP
V

vigilante

New Member
Joined
Jul 2, 2004
Location
Netherlands
I don't think it;s my Zalman 300W PSU. It is the same one i used with my P4P800 deluxe. i will make a photo is my soft menu and of the POST screen when it crashes. It boots up correctly, So the first POST screen loads correctly. the problem is with the POST screen just before the windows loading screen, where it shoul update the dmi pool. I;ll make some pics of my system, POST and Bios settings.
 

SimGuy

Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2003
Location
Ottawa, Ontario
What BIOS revision are you using? I recommend BIOS 1.5 and flashing it through the good old floppy method. Then, shutdown, CMOS clear the system and restart. :)

What are your GAT settings as well?

Additionally, I take it you've tried running your memory @ 3-4-4-8, 3:2, 2.9V, setting your CPU Strap to PSP800, locking PCI/AGP & setting your GAT to : A-A-A-D-D. Your sig says it's DDR400 memory.

From experience, I can tell you that the MAX3 is not limited to an FSB of 230. When I had my Mach II, I had the FSB up to 285 MHz. :)

That PSU looks like it could be the weakest link as well...
 

KrisMCool

Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2004
Location
Greensboro, NC
vigilante said:
After the POST screen, it freezes at the screen where the DMI POOL should me checked.

Freezing during DMI pool check is memory related, most likely GAT settings. Any time I try to adjust GAT settings (other than AAADD) with my Mushkins, or raise vDDR to >2.8v, that's what I see. Memory timings that won't work usually give different signals, like not posting at all or BSOD on loading Windows. I've found the IC7-Max3 to be very picky about memory settings, while my Asus boards allow for more aggressive adjustment.

Too bad we can't combine the better features of the IC7-Max3 (vcore mngmt, board sensors) and P4C800-E (vdimm stability, working memory settings, simple SATA setup) to make a better I875 board.

Even though that 300w PSU might have worked with another board, that would be my very first upgrade recommendation to you. I wouldn't use anything below 400w (legitimate, not bloated advertising) myself.
 
Last edited: