• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

IE 6.0 with italics

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

n00bular

Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2002
Location
california, north and south
Out of no where, my internet explorer decides to italicize nearly everything. For example, when I visit yahoo, all the text on the site is italicized and so is whatever I type in to the search bar.

Also, parts of windows is also italicized. Is there any fix for this? I really dont want to reinstall windows...
 

CrashOveride

Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2002
Location
Beijing, China
Check tools -> internet options and then the fonts button at the bottom and make sure it's not set ot italic...
You might also like another broswer that is 10000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000 times better called Mozilla Firebird...
Check it out (tabbed browsing, NO popups, a plethera of popups and more! Best of M$ free).
Installer
Official website
 

cobray

Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2003
Thanks for the link Crash.

I just downloaded it a few minutes ago. Its pretty cool!

I forgot how much IE sucked.

Thanks again for the link
 
OP
n00bular

n00bular

Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2002
Location
california, north and south
Thanks.... but thats not the point. I have heard and seen firebird before, just didnt really get into it. Even IF I was to switch to firebird, it won't fix my italics problem.

I found this problem to be scene in Lavasoft Adaware 6 (all the text is italicized) and in AIM (buddy list only).
 

CrashOveride

Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2002
Location
Beijing, China
Right click on the desktop and proporties and in the appearence tab check to see if any of the fonts there are italic. If so change them and see if maybe that fixes it? Just guesses.
 

redduc900

Inactive Moderator
Joined
Dec 17, 2000
Location
Portland, OR
Check to make sure you have the Arial.ttf in your fonts folder...C:\WINDOWS\Fonts (or C:\WINNT\Fonts). When that particular font is missing, programs will often-times substitute the Arial Italic.ttf font to replace it....since the Arial font is the default for a number of programs. :)
 
OP
n00bular

n00bular

Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2002
Location
california, north and south
redduc900 you may be on to something... just checked my fonts folder and it only has a shortcut to the arial font... though it seems to have been deleted.

Anywhere I can get Arial font?

*update* I found my arial font and replaced it. Thanks again for the help I finally fixed it :D :D :D