• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

I'm new to AMD, but these temps don't sound good...

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

e_storm

Ok, this is my first try at running an AMD processor. First, here are my current specs:
Epox 8K7A+, 1.4g tbird, millenium glaciator, case sides off
cheapo vcard, no HD(yet)
full tower case

I'm still in the building stages, so the furthest I have got is into bios and I have no HD in yet, just using a dos boot disk.

Anyway, I fired this thing up and got into bios right away to check out the temps. Its started in the low 40s and every few seconds would go up a degree...til finally ended up resting about 52*C!! Now this is under no load at all, just in the system bios. Now I know these chips run hot, but isn't that a bit much? The heatsink is fairly warm to the touch, so it appears to be doing its job. Is this what I am to expect? do all you guys just load up on case fans to keep temp reasonable?

I have various case fans in place and will use them once I make sure my PS is good enough (300w PC P&C turbocool). I see others with temps in the 40s and thats about what I expected under idle conditions and maybe in the 50s under load, but with what I have now, if I put it under load I'd be in the upper 50s or maybe even 60s!! What do you all think?

make sure the hsf is on right....it sounds dumb but the first time i put a hsf on a socket a cpu, i actually managed to put it on bass ackwards.

I hope I don't need to remind you to use AS2 :)

LOL, I just took a look and you were right, I had the thing on totally backwards...after looking at the mating surface on the HS, it looked like only a portion of entire area of the die was making contact. lol. Thanks for the advice, you'd think after 3 computers I could figure out how to put on a HS correctly. :D