• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Image quality for capture card

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

speedy4500

Member
Joined
May 13, 2001
I think this is probably the best place to post my concerns...

I just recently bought a Prolink Pixelview Video Maker PCI card, which has a TV tuner and hardware MPEG1/2 encoding. So far, I've only tried recording VHS tapes to my computer, and the quality leaves a lot to be desired (I think sometime soon I may extract the card and examine the various chips soldered on it and investigate their white papers if I can find them). My hunch is that the VHS tape input signal is fairly "castrated" to begin with, as no matter what bit-rate I set the MPEG2 encoder at--2.8 up to 15 mbit/s--the quality is pretty much the same; is that the probable cause for bad quality recordings? In two weeks when I get cable television hooked up, should the recording be better? Or might this be card related? Unfortunately, this card I have is rare in the USA, there was only one internet store I found that stocked them, so I don't have many places to look for advice/help, and I hope I didn't invest 160 of my hard-earned dollars into a less-than-stellar card. It seems like it has a lot of potential (the specs were nice), but so far it's not as good as I had hoped. OK, enough rambling....so is it the card or the VHS input?


PS Here is a link to a tweaktown.com review of it, the only review I could find on the net.
 

CrazyP

Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2002
well, I have a AIW in one rig, and a tvwonder in the other. the quality does look bad when viewed on a monitor, but I have made vcd cd with some recording I made, and on the TV it looks fine. try uotputting the recording to the TV and see how it looks. remeber the monitor has a much higher resolution, so something designed exclusively for 60 hz refresh rate and 640/480 resolution will not look good at higher settings
 

Turando

Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2002
Location
UK
for one, VHS is awful anyway, i just recently baught the pinnacle pctv Rave Pro and you get the same quality as the vhs when recording, from tv and cable its cristal.


Cheers, Turando
 
OP
S

speedy4500

Member
Joined
May 13, 2001
Okay, thanks. That's makes me happy knowing that the crappy quality is probably not due to the card. Once I buy some CD-Rs or an S-video cable I'll try outputting to TV and see how that looks. And I can't wait for 10 more days when I finally get cable TV. I might need to get a DVD writer or a 200gb hard drive to store all the recordings.........
 

deez

Member
Joined
Jul 9, 2001
Location
Louisville, KY
the reason VHS and standard TV broadcast look different is b/c they have different resolutions.

The resolution for standard VHS video is 240 horizontal lines, standard TV (in USA/North america) is 330 lines, and DVD is 450-500 lines

Most standard TV sets display 330 lines max resolution.
 

Turando

Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2002
Location
UK
i think you will find it has little to do with the resolution, VHS whas not the optimum video media at its release, it was just the cheapest, its just a very very VERY poor media.