• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Intel 386DX 33

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Daddyjaxx

I'm thinking about building an old system with an Intel 386DX from parts on ebay, not AMD or Cyrix, or TI. The parts seem pretty cheap....maybe 200-400 in total.

What do I need?

385DX CPU 20-33 MHz passive cooling HS
Motherboard
2-4 MB RAM
ISA Video Card
100-200MB IDE Hard drive
Win 3.1 or 95. I'm pretty sure it can run 95.
AT 200w PSU
Floppy drive
Case

I'd like to see SuperPi 32m take 4 days to compute instead of 18 minutes. :) My first real computer was a 386DX 25 with an 80MB hard drive. It will be kind of nostalgic. I could show people my PC and say you think your PC is slow. Look what I have been using for 30 years.

Wait a minute, I'd bet 50% of the audience here isn't old enough to remember these.

Last edited:

trents

Would the motherboards in that era even be able to accept that much RAM? I'm not even sure they made sticks in those amounts. After all, you're talking about pre DDR days.

mackerel

4MB of ram... :D such a long time ago... I can't remember full spec but first PC I used was a 386SX16. My first personal system was 486 DX/2 66 initially with 4MB of ram, later upgraded to 8MB. I don't have that any more, but I did save someone else's similar system from the skip with the intention of converting it to a retro gaming system. Never happened...

OP
Daddyjaxx

Daddyjaxx

Would the motherboards in that era even be able to accept that much RAM? I'm not even sure they made sticks in those amounts. After all, you're talking about pre DDR days.

Yep.

Intel 80386 DX
Code name P3
Date released 1985
Architecture 32 bits
Data bus 32 bits
Address bus 32 bits
Maximum memory 4096 MB
L1 cache 0 KB (controller sometimes present)
L2 cache no
Clock frequency 16-33 MHz